Arts and crafts and dogs lovers home near Innerleithen, Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 451 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Artist's creative country home, (sometimes art workshop venue) and studio in the picturesque Scottish Borders.
    Help is required with general housekeeping, gardening, garden and house maintenance and with 4 sweet dogs who like walking and cuddles. There is generally some art related project on the go. Currently that involves a mosaic garden project for which artist host will teach and give instruction as to how. This, therefore is ideally suited to self motivated, animal loving creatives or gardeners who have a passion and interest in contributing to making an interesting and beautiful space.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For Workawayers wishing to follow a creative path this will offer them the opportunity to work and learn alongside an experienced professional artist at times if this is something you are keen to do. Sharing the cooking of meals and eating supper together offers the opportunity to practise English to foreign workawayers.

  • Help

    Help

    Along with help within the house, gardening and helping with 4 dogs, there will generally be some sort of art related project or garden project happening. This is best suited to animal lovers, keen walkers, lovers of the outdoors and a quieter life and to creatives who would enjoy working on creative garden projects which currently is mosaic work for which I will teach how to do. If you have ever visited the Gaudi Museum, think of the mosaic benches and walls. Depending on skills help needed is animal care, general household cleaning, maintenance and garden work. As a studio build is due to happen soon there may be some work related to this in way of ground clearing and preparation. The daily 5 hours work loosely breaks down to 2 hours dog walking, 1 hour house cleaning, 1 hour gardening and 1 hour on creative project. This is flexible and for those who are passionate about art and creativity may choose to spend more of their own time in the studio.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room or twin room ( if friends) and shared bathroom. Nice creative local community with the nearest small town a couple of miles away. Edinburgh an hours drive away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Situated in the middle of mountain biking heaven surrounded by world famous trails and also on the Southern Upland Way so a great place for keen walkers and mountain bikers alike. Nearby is the historic Traquair House, Buses run regularly into Edinburgh from the nearby small town of Innerleithen. Edinburgh takes around 1and a half hours on the bus and the nearest airport is Edinburgh. This is a Vegetarian, non-smoking home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 629936424394