Help with some DIY and gardening projects in our family home in Glasgow, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 100 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    We are a young family, based in Glasgow. I'm a photographer and my partner is a GP, we both work part time. We have 4 year old twins and a 1 year old.

    We live close to the city centre in a large detached house set within a big green space that we are renovating to be environmentally sound/low impact. We're into gardening and permaculture, music and a lot of other arty stuff as well as photography. We're renovating the house to be environmentally friendly and sustainable. We cycle a lot, go camping, walking and generally like to be outside. Glasgow is a great base from which to explore the wilds of Scotland!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Glasgow is a vibrant city with a great music scene and arts and cultural events (when not in lockdown). We have a college less than 2 miles away where you might enrol on a language course and there are plenty of opportunities for sports and games/being outdoors. There are so many different communities in the area where we live, Pakistani, Romanian, Polish...etc and many religions, it's a very tolerant place and whatever you were keen to explore, we could support you to find a good organisation to begin with.

  • Help

    Help

    The house is old/big and we have completed all the major renovations (roof/windows/glazing/foundations) to an ecologically sound standard, however there are still lots of little fiddly jobs left to complete - e.g. painting 27+ sash widows of various sizes (a few coats), insulating the loft, lifting carpets, preparing surfaces, taking stuff to the tip, collecting stuff from builders merchant, landscaping, gardening, building a music studio etc.

    We can offer a private, double room (shared bathroom and kitchen) and full board (vegetarian), in exchange for 20 hours a week help /gardening tasks.

    You would be sharing the downstairs floor with another workaway person (female) who is helping us with childcare.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to improve my Spanish or Gaelic

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room, shared bathroom and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area (Pollokshields) is well served by public transport - buses, subway and train. We have plenty of bikes you could borrow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Decent wi-fi - fast fibre, a few adults using at same time in day

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large driveway and plenty of parking space/storage, plus electric hook up.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    No cats unfortunately (allergic)... any other animals, just ask.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 626891546258