Help us with renovations, gardening, home help and enjoy Austrian Alps in Radstadt, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    383

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family who have lived in Austria since 2006.
    We live, own and manage our guest house, summer and winter.
    Situated in Radstadt, 70km south of Salzburg with easy train and bus connections all around Land Salzburg and Styria.
    Our haus is a purpose built guest house (which is where your accommodation will be provided), with a large garden and fabulous views. We have 2 kids (13 boy, 9 girl) who are fluent in German and attend the local schools here and a very friendly dog.
    During the quieter months we try to take the opportunity to renovate the house and garden. An extra 1 or 2 pair of hands would never go unnoticed!
    There would be varying types of help (depending on your skill set and experience). This season we expect to be working on some large scale renovation, so I expect labouring, gardening and home help will be the main focus.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Radstadt is a beautiful historical town situated in the middle of Land Salzburg.
    There are main line train and bus routes which open up easy access to most of Europe!
    Salzburg, the city of Mozart and quite literally The Sound of Music, is a cheap bus ride or gorgeous train trip away. The city is close enough for day trips.
    There are many activities available in the surrounding area. Mountain biking (downhill lift accessed) or trail riding, awesome road biking routes plus hikes and trails available from the door step.
    I am also a member of the local choir (if singing is your thing) and have quite a few musical 'toys'!
    Our children are educated at the local school and are fluent in German and love to teach!!
    There are also opportunities to learn about the hospitality trade and marketing, catering for groups and general mixed skills.

  • Help

    Help

    Our older guest rooms will need renovating this year.
    This comprises of a full refit including tiling, roofing and decorating and the fitting of new flooring and a new bathroom. Site labouring is required but any skilled labour will always be a bonus and certainly rewarded ;-)
    We also will need help with household management and gardening throughout the period.
    I have a feeling that our helper may feel a little like a 'gopher' by the end of their stay... Gopher this.... gopher that!!! ;-)

    Hours will be flexible and more likely on a job by job basis.
    Average 22 hours per week
    Mon - Friday (but hopefully with as many Fridays as free as possible... to enable long weekends away if you fancy a trip!)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Beginner
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are a purpose built guest house and will have our guest facilities available for our work away guests!
    Private guest room accommodation with private shower and wc facilities plus balcony and roof terrace.
    We will keep our breakfast room stocked with breakfast items for you to help yourself.
    We can also include you in our family meals (to be eaten together or reheated when you choose) or provide a small food budget or stocked fridge - depending on your requirements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many mountain activities in the area.
    We can lend bikes for some sports but they are available for rent locally.
    There are lift assisted down hill mountain bike parks close by (Wagrain and Schladming).
    We may take sightseeing/activity days out at the weekends, which you will be more than welcome to join.
    We are an easy going family and just need an extra pair of hands to help with our household tasks and renovations... as we get older there seems to be more and more stairs ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A view from our garden to the House and Roof Terrace. Your accommodation will be a purpose built BnB room with access to the large terrace.
Hikes, walks, trails.... loads of mountain fun on the doorstep!
Duties may include watering and taking care of our balcony flowers and displays.
Here is an example of a renovated room.... and guess what.... you get to stay in it!!
Our bilingual daughter in her Dirndl.
Awesome hikes surround us! Some lift accessed and some right form the door step!
Garden maintenance may be one type of work needed to help take care of the place.
A view from the roof terrace.
Renovations in progress for Room 5.
Renovations in progress for Room 5.
Completely refitting guest washroom facilities in Room 5.
The finished washroom in Room 5!
The finished double room 5!
Us being Us!!
Host ref number: 623881561853