Help out at a vacation rental property on 25 acre's in the Okanagan Valley British Columbia Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 120 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/05/2018

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our names are Jim and Carol and we own and operate a vacation property which consists of a five bedroom vacation house and a one bedroom cabin. The property is located in one of Canada's major tourist area's, across the road from the Shuswap river on the main road to North Mabel Lake. There are many lakes in the area and lots to do year round for someone who enjoys the outdoors. We have been working towards catering to vacations year round as the area consists of both summer and winter activities as we have mild winters and warm summers so there is something for everyone to enjoy no matter what the season.
    As we have now been hosting work aways since last spring we have gained some understanding of what our needs are and what type of individual would best fit into our program. We are looking for mature, self motivated, reliable, individuals who are willing and capable of being able to take on the tasks of cleaning, yard maintenance and gardening as well as help with meal preparation. As we are a vacation property rental accommodations must be cleaned as if this was a five star hotel as this is what our guests expect from us and if we do not provide them with a high level of service then they will not come back. That said anyone who is self motivated, has a high level of cleanliness, is neat and tidy will not have a problem. The cleaning work load is not huge as most of our bookings are a week or longer and we only have five rooms in the main vacation house and the cabin which is one bedroom. This equates to daily tidying up and a thorough cleaning once guests leave. As we own and operate another business which can mean that I work all day in my home office having someone who can cook a meal while I am working is mandatory as I cannot always take on the responsibility of ensuring that I stop my office work to cook for the work away, myself and husband if he is home. When there is no cleaning to do then there are flower beds that need maintaining and a garden that needs weeding as that is where we get our organic vegetables from in the summer. All that said the flower beds are laid out as maintenance free as we can make them and the lawn mower is a ride on type to make the job easier.
    As we also have equine, cats and dogs on the property anyone allergic to animals will not fair well here as we have two little dogs that live with us in the main residence. The animals are not allowed in the vacation rental units as we do get the odd guest who is allergic. Plus there is no need for the pets to be near the guests.

    .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great opportunity to learn how the locals live as well as people from all around the world as we are a vacation rental in a country that is considered safe to travel and reside in one of the most beautiful places in Canada. As well as learn what country living is like on an acreage that tries to be as organic as conceivably possible.

  • Help

    Help

    Summer months temperatures can reach to 38 degrees Celsius or higher so we need work aways that are capable of getting up around seven in the morning to do there work as it is just to hot by noon to productively work outside.
    As I stated earlier, self motivated work aways are a must and that means someone that can look and see that a flower bed needs weeding, plants need watering. If it looks like it something needs to be done then instead of waiting to be told take the initiative and do the job. As Yard maintenance is a big part of maintaining the appearance of the property we need to ensure we have work aways that are comfortable with operating ride on lawn mowers , farm RTV which is like driving a mini car with a dump box attached for hauling lawn clippings, weeds, and transporting lawn tools around the property. All these tools are easy to operate if you learn to operate them safely and correctly.
    Other responsibilities may include fence checking and paddock cleaning, garden weeding, feeding the horses that reside on the property. Please be advised that we are not looking for someone to work with the horses they are trained in a specific manner and therefore we do the training ourselves. We are looking for someone who is comfortable with helping with the vacation rentals and yard maintenance first and foremost. Equine come second.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English must be fairly good.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Work away accommodations are the same as our personal residents which is a very nice place to stay and rooms are very comfortable and as they are in our main residents are expected to be kept neat and tidy. Work Away's have their own private bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Check out the exploring Enderby and area website:
    I really don't know where to start. If you are looking for free entertainment then go hiking, fishing, kayaking, cross country skiing or snow shoeing on their time off all which costs nothing but to nudge your host for a ride or to go with you, if time permits. There are many local attractions in the area that are free or inexpensive depending on your tastes. Enderby is a very eclectic town that has many musical and artistic people in the area so if you are a music or art lover then entertainment will not be an issue especially in summer as there are multitudes of all day musical events, open markets and trade fairs. One of our favourites is the Caravan Farm theatre whether you like live theatre or not we have yet to have anyone not love it when we have taken them.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day is plenty or better yet get one or two tasks a day done and then either we will find something in the area that interests you or go play with you. We don't want to watch dog anyone as we don't want to be that stringent.

This is Jim my husband with his horse Laredo taken last year in our barn alley. It was the only picture that I could find of him!! Lol, Jim will tell you he and Laredo have an agreement. Laredo lets him ride him and Jim doesn't ask him to do much so that he doesn't buck him off. Seems to work for the pair of them.
Hi My Name is Carol and I would be your host. I don't have allot of pictures that I either am not grubby from either working on the property or on a horse. This was the best I could find. It was taken last year when I was visiting a friend.
This picture is of Beatrice who is one of our two dogs. The picture was taken on the Shuswap river not far from our place. Put a bathing suit on, pick up a life jacket and good luck getting past her as she is a water lover and does not take kindly to being left behind.
This is a baby coyote that my husband found when he was fence checking. He was so young he could hardly waddle let alone walk. We put him in a bush near where my husband found him and it took about fifteen minutes for the mother to come back and get him. Not my favourite wildlife resident as they will try eat the farm cats and hassle the young Norwegian fjord foals on occasion. But they are part of nature here and we accept that.
These are baby killdeer. Every year the mother comes back to the same spot on our driveway and takes up residence which means we flag off around them and ask guests to go very slow. The mother is easy to spot as she will act like she is hurt to try draw you away from the babies. They have also taken up residence in my riding arena. It's amazing these birds are not extinct.
Moose in neighbours front field. I have watched them jump our electro-braid fences in front of the main house and run across the lower pasture. Pretty funny to watch but you better be quick with the camera as they can run faster then one would think.
We get everything from deer, moose, eagles, marmots, coyotes, bears, coming on to the property. In fact when the river flooded three years ago we had a baby deer born in our front lawn and they lived there all summer. They got so tame that I had to wait for the baby to finish nursing one morning so I could move my car. Obviously like foals, baby deer are very single minded when nursing.
We can hike to the Enderby Cliffs from the back of our property. This is one of the views on the way up there. It takes about three and a half hours on foot and you are in Cedar forests. No motorized vehicles are allowed up there so on foot it is. The hike is well worth the view from the top.
This natural water slide is just up the road and free to go enjoy.
Kayaking on Schwap river which is located across from property. We love Kayaking on the river.




Host ref number: 623261242258