Come and help around the home in Yeppoon Beach, Queensland, Australia




Favourited 28 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We live in Yeppoon across the road from the beach, with views of Great Keppel Island.
    My little family consists of myself, Jenny, my husband, Mick and our two sons, Jack and Peter who are 10 and 11 years old.
    We have a mowing business.
    We would be very excited to meet a traveller looking for somewhere to stay and help out around the home.
    As we have travelled quiet a bit ourselves, we understand that sometimes the best experience is staying in a local home with a local family. We would be happy to take you out with us if we are going somewhere.
    Enjoy the café scene and the night life in local Yeppoon, just 2.5km away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have kyaks you can use down at the beach, a ferry runs to Great Keppel Island every day. Visit Yeppoon, experience life in a very casual beach town.
    The weekends are your own time to do as you please.
    We would love to have you stay and experience life with a local family. We have a pool for you to cool off in during the hot days.
    We would love to learn a few phrases of your language. We have lived overseas before and love learning about other cultures also.

  • Help


    House helper role:
    - wash and hang out one load of washing a day
    - pack dishwasher
    - vacuum meals area daily
    - wash our extremely friendly pet dog, Boof

    Garden help:
    - picking up fallen leaves in the garden weekly

    Child care:
    - my boys are quiet independent but occasionally I may need help to drive them to the bus stop or to School now and then
    - make their lunch during the School holidays
    - play table tennis with them and whatever you want to do for fun with them, during a School Holiday period

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little Bahasa Indonesian.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own bedroom with your own bathroom/two way toilet with ocean views.
    The bedroom is just for visitors and is next to the kitchen, away from all other bedrooms.
    From your glass doors you have ocean views and a view of Great Keppel Island.
    We are happy to provide you with three meals a day.
    We are pretty healthy eaters.
    Usually a cooked breakfast on weekend. Mainly salads and cold meat for lunch and a hot dinner.
    Friday night is traditionally movie and pizza night with the family...unless you wish to head out on the town and check out the night life.
    We love to have a BBQ with our neighbours which you will always be welcome to of course.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off you can hang out at the beach, check out Yeppoon, go to the Caves, Byfield, there are buses that go to Rockhampton, just 45 minutes away with major shopping centre, a zoo and beautiful National Parks and Gardens. You can walk to town if you like, or borrow my bicycle. There is a great paved track along the coast that takes you to town, only 2.5kms away.
    If you have an International drivers licence this is preferred but not essential.
    Walking tracks up Mt. Jim Crow and other walks around the area, hills and along the coast.
    We have 1 dog..
    We are non-smokers and require a non-smoker also.
    We are a pretty casual family, love travelling, and cultural experiences.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 619495416573