Stay with our fun family and help out with the garden in Barnard Castle, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2021

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Fun family home in an area of outstanding natural beauty in The Pennines. A rural location with amazing walks for the outdoor enthusiast and a dark skies area. We have two dogs and two children, all well behaved! Our home is a large Country House which needs constant love and attention, we are looking for two people to help with the garden and outside tasks. We have a tennis court, table tennis, river for wild swimming and lots of local attractions to visit. A car would be helpful but we have two bikes that we are happy to be used. This workaway would suit outdoor enthusiasts who want to explore the surrounding area.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers could learn about the history of the area in which we live and also the history of our home which dates back to 1640. My husband and I have both travelled and love to share our home with travellers and hear about their lives and give them an insight into ours. We would be be very happy to take travellers to the railway station to go to places like Durham or York at the weekends and pick them up again. We want travellers to enjoy their time with us and have happy memories of the area.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for hep with our garden and outside area. This would be general tidying, weeding and sweeping etc. There maybe some inside help like basic painting if the weather is awful.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in our home and travellers would have their own bedroom and bathroom. They are welcome to use our facilities and we have wi fi throughout the house. We would provide three meals a day, a help yourself breakfast and lunch and then a meal with the family Monday to Friday evenings and at weekends travellers would be free to enjoy the many local attractions and use the family kitchen to cook a meal and enjoy some time off. We do not provide alcohol as part of the food allowance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many things to do in the local area, High Force, Bowes Museum, Raby Castle, Barnard Castle, Durham Cathedral, York, Beamish Museum. Amazing walks and trails which can be started from where we live. We ask that people staying with us respect our environment and if they use the kitchen they tidy up after themselves. Also that they are happy to change their bed and clean their bathroom on a weekly basis, we are a non smoking family but happy for smokers to smoke outside and pick up their cigarette butts afterwards.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 618928157885