Help out at our ecological farm near Santa Elena, Medellín, Colombia

Country

Colombia

updated  

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings,
    My name is Teo and I'm an architect and former volunteer living in my grandfather's finca just outside Santa Elena, Medellin (2500 masl). Surrounded by vegetation, my aim is to learn and apply permaculture principles and create a community for exchange. For now I live with 2 dogs and 5 chickens.
    The farm is submerged in the cultural landscape of Santa Elena, in the vereda El Placer, one hour away from Medellín. Our neighbors are the Silleteros that features year after year their flowers in the heavy silletas during the Festival de las Flores. The house is in the renovation process and features energy-efficient implements such as a heat harvester from the chimney and a bio-digestor for warming up the water. The garden holds about 50 different agricultural and medicinal plants.
    We are all vaccinated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Santa Elena is the cultural landscape of Medellin. The farm is part of a native forest corridor, close to ecological parks, and a lot of cute antioqueño houses. Volunteers will be able to explore the idillic forests, including Parque Arví and Piedras Blancas. All the facilities and public transport are in walking distance from the place. (The town square of Santa Elena is just 30 minutes on foot.)

  • Help

    Help

    I am aiming to learn and apply permaculture principles on the farm. I am looking for volunteers who are respectful and are willing to help. Knowledge in permaculture, bio-construction, arts, yoga, cooking, woodworking, ecology, biology, gardening are especially helpful, but all skill levels are welcome.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a room for 2 volunteers.

    The garden provide us with vegetables and eggs, and hopefully soon much more. The host will provide 2 vegetarian meals a day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Since Santa Elena belongs to Medellin, all the basic infrastructure is available within walking distance (supermarket, hospital, library, bank). Public transportation stops in front of the propriety. Arví cable car communicating to Medellín massive transport system is 10 kms away. Natural reserves, viewpoints, farms, cafes, waterfalls and much more are only few steps from our place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We can offer 60mb/s stable and free optic fiber wifi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Safe and big parking space on the gated private property. Electricity, water, wifi, bathrooms and other facilities available.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, I have dogs and chickens that will be happy to receive visits :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 617173114178