Help us spruce up our 1880's Home in New York, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are two retired moms living in a very large house that needs some finishing touches. The structural work is complete, but the inside of the house needs sprucing up. We have gardening and painting projects, and we also just love having people stay. We have raised two children and have two grandchildren. We have a corgi named Ivy. Julia loves cooking for people!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live about 5 hours by bus from NYC, we are a few blocks from the University of Rochester, and we live near Lake Ontario and Niagara Falls. There are many music and arts festivals in the area. Since we are both mostly retired, we have time to travel around with our guest. We are looking for a couple of hours a day in terms of help. It is equally important that our guest has fun and learns a lot! Julia loves to cook and would like to learn more about the food and recipes from our guest's country too! We had a young woman from Gujarati live with us a number of years ago, and she taught us so much about the food from her region in India. We are also happy to help with language practice and to help our guest learn about our government here. We are quite liberal, just as a head's up!

  • Help

    Help

    We need support with some painting, patching and sanding, planting, and moving things to the attic and basement. We would do the moving things together!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a lovely guest room with a comfortable queen bed. I change sheets once a week, and we are pretty tidy. Our house needs work, but we keep it orderly. We have a small dog, a corgi, named Ivy. Our granddaughter sometimes stays overnight with us. She is five and very interested in people!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rochester is a very arty city. We also have a large jazz festival in the summer. We love going for walks in the parks, going to the drive-in movies, and driving around!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 614821195393