Happy, Kind Familiy in Manchester, England; looking for a extra paid of hands to join the family. UK minimum 6 months


United Kingdom

Favourited 34 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We’re looking for someone to join our happy, kind, outdoorsy, adventurous, sociable, open-minded family of four (five including our beloved dog). An extra pair of hands is needed with household tasks when we’re all crazy-busy with nursery, school, after-school- activities and work. It would be great if you could improve our rusty French (its very rusty; we had help with the French translation here). We will, of course, help with your fluency in English. You’ll be given plenty of free time to independently explore and enjoy being in the UK, and we hope you’ll join us for some of the fun stuff we do as well. When at home in Manchester, we love nothing better than reading, music, arts and crafts and outdoor activities. We also spend time at our flat by the coast in North Wales, where we often go on long walks and swim in the sea, even in the colder months!!! If that hasn’t put you off, please read on….

    Dad works in sales and marketing, and sometimes works away. Mum is a lawyer.
    Both of us can work long hours and life gets hectic, but we try to keep the stress at bay with plenty of laughter, family time and slick organisation (doesn’t always go to plan!). We love to travel and enjoy meeting new people and experiencing different cultures. We’re very chatty and enjoy discussing literature, history, politics and other current affairs; but we do also like our down-time in front of the TV or a film. Mum indulges herself with yoga and the odd gin and tonic, whereas Dad will play football or open a beer in front of a game of rugby. We enjoy listening to music and we also love to party occasionally!!

    Our youngest is a sweet, placid soul who is just finding his feet, as he isn’t quite one year-old. He will follow in his sisters’ footsteps and start full-time nursery soon. Our five-year-old daughter is a whirlwind of activity. When she is not at school, she loves to pony ride (which she does weekly after school), ski (we all love that when we get the chance!), swim (again weekly), music (we have a piano and various other instruments), sports, playing, making and drawing art, but most of all she enjoys nature; being in the garden, the park, the beach with us. Both children are cheerful, respectful, polite, curious and full of joy; and they adore one another!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a quiet and secluded area, which is very green, despite being only two-miles from the city-centre. Manchester is a fabulous city with its interesting history, rich music scene, vibrant multi-culturalism; theatres, museums, pubs and restaurants. We are also walking-distance from our local neighbourhood shops, cafes and bars. Further afield is the Lake District and the Peaks for spectacular scenery and hiking. It takes us only two hours to get to our home-from-home in North Wales, which has so much to see and do.

  • Help


    Require someone for at least 6 months.

    Whilst we have never had an au pair before, we have previously hosted young people, including one from France (we are more than willing to provide references from them). As with our previous lodgers, we very much expect you to be one of the family; spending time together but giving each other space also.

    We expect you will want to learn from us about our land and culture, both in Manchester and in North Wales. You will also want to spend time exploring on your own. There will also be times when we will go away on trips and leave you with time to do as you please.

    Our dog is part of our family. He’s old and very gentle and friendly. He loves having company and going on walks. Not only do we expect that you will be comfortable with dogs, we would like you to help ensure he gets regular walks when we aren’t available.

    We would very much like to improve our French. Our daughter attends her school French club, so it would be lovely if you could support her in learning the language. However, we will prioritise helping you with your English; both spoken and written. We’ll ensure that you have time and opportunity to attend a language school if you wish.

    We expect help with preparation of the evening meal. Most of the food we buy is organic and we try to be vegetarian (although not rigidly). Eating a fresh, healthy evening meal is important to us. Since our food is mostly delivered, only occasional trips to the shops will be needed.

    We expect someone who can frequently drop off and pick up from school and/or nursery. Both are within easy walking distance. We may need you to take our eldest to some of her after-school-activities. Transport can be discussed and arranged.

    We do not need help with cleaning as we have a cleaner who comes regularly. However, we will need help with some laundry and tidying.

    We don’t expect you to be alone for long periods with either child, unless one of them is sick and cannot attend school or nursery. Other than occasional babysitting once they are asleep, it will be rare indeed that you are with them and we are not somewhere very nearby! However, both our jobs can involve evening work at home in preparation for the next day, so you may sometimes be in charge of the children. You will need to treat their safety and well-being as a priority, play with them (games and sports, arts and crafts), read to them and help them learn. Remember, we love family time, so our ideal is that we spend as much time together as work allows!

    Effectively, you will be another pair of hands, helping to keep our family affairs running smoothly and enjoying life with us along the way….

    Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any questions about the above.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, and a little French

  • Accommodation


    Home is an old house decorated in a vintage style. We have six bedrooms, one of which will be yours, with your own bathroom and little “snug” area with your own TV. We have a Rayburn oven, open fire, log-burning stove and all the usual house-hold appliances. Our garden has swings and other stuff for the kids to play on as well as a seating area with lighting and a fire for those summer evenings when the extended- family, friends and neighbours come over.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 596312994845