Organic family living and learning in Las Vegas, USA


United States

Favourited 95 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    We are a 5 person, 3 chickens, and one dog family living in the Las Vegas Valley, 20-30 minutes from the Strip. My name is Marissa and my husband's name is Daniel. We have three daughters, Ember (7), Sierra (4) and Hazel (2) and a baby boy coming this summer, our golden retriever is named Copper. We are freelearners/wildschoolers and engage with our local community as much as we can. We are often heading out for camping trips and nature adventures but will be slowing down this year with the pregnancy. When our co-op has plans we often having nature days up in the mountains, camping as a group, or doing other types of group activities. My husband works full time in our family business in Fire Prevention. Before our three daughters were born we set up our yard to be a small Permaculture inspired urban homestead. Since then, it has stabilized but needs some work and cleaning up along with additional gardening to maximize our food production again. We have a large home that we would love to share with our workaway guests. We would love to have your help with our yard, regular cleaning tasks, random tasks that relate to having a big family, and cooking. We learn so much from our workawayers and benefit so much from the cultural exchange. We are always looking for opportunities to learn about the Mojave Desert together and are located in a great location within the Las Vegas valley with all the entertainment it has to offer. It is also important to note that we are only comfortable with female workawayers and the right couples due to our family being full of little kids and with the way our accommodations are set up. Thanks for checking us out!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By staying with us you will be able to engage in a more in depth cultural experience of the West and communities like ours that are working hard to create more for our families and future out here in this desert through sustainable design practices, the pursuit of happiness, freedom and cultural development through unique stewardship experiences for learners of all ages. Our little oasis is a peaceful natural gem hidden within this large urban town full of all its glitter, vanity, and abundance of entertainment and fine dining. Our place helps create a nice balance between visiting the Strip and all it has to offer and peacefully enjoying our garden or home life.

  • Help


    We need help with cleaning, organizational tasks, cooking, and gardening/yard work. I imagine your stay will include simply helping me juggle these different tasks as well as any particular sort of tasks you are more interested in engaging in. We are flexible and will love designing your experience so that it compliments your particular interests while also helping our household's various goals whether it relates to cleaning, cooking, teaching us all about the world by learning all about your home and practicing your language, the basics of keeping a homestead running, or being outside and working with our landscape. I love to have an extra set of hands around when we go out on our adventures and camping trips! We are excited about all the hidden benefits that would come from learning all about you, and your home.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation


    Your getaway includes a bedroom with a King bed, closet, dresser, and access to the upstairs bathroom. It will be down the hall from us and will give you plenty of privacy. The bathroom will be shared with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our location is ideal for travelers who want easy access to everything Las Vegas offers without any of the hassle (and extra expenses--resort fees, parking) that comes from staying on the Strip. This is a perfect opportunity for single travelers, couples, and possibly families. Enjoy organic veggies and herbs (during the right seasons for the desert) from our garden while staying in a quiet, kid friendly neighborhood.
    Our home is in Green Valley, a suburb that is full of parks, scenic bike routes, hiking paths, restaurants, and a variety of shopping centers. We are 15 minutes to the Strip, airport, convention center, and Fremont Street Experience with easy access to the I-215 and US 95 freeways. We are also close to nature areas and tourist locations such as Red Rock, the Valley of Fire, Lake Mead, Death Valley, Black Mountain, and Mt. Charleston. Our major cross streets are Warm Springs and Valle Verde. We are just south of Whitney Mesa park. We have convenient and free on-street parking. Pull up right in front of the house. Las Vegas us very spread out. Unless you are looking to use Uber or Lyft while in town we recommend renting a vehicle in order to take advantage of your stay out here in the Wild West.
    Our daily life includes the children and I often heading out for nature classes or homeschool related activities in the late morning with Danny heading home to join us around sunset. I try to have them play outside and pursue their interests while also being aware as a mentor that is ready to support their learning. When at home we are playing, learning, cleaning, and cooking for the most part. We have a nice group of international friends we get together with regularly, extended family close by, and often go camping when the weather is right and would love to have you join us. We try to eat whole foods and buy grass fed meat in bulk from a farm in Utah. I avoid dairy, and gluten but just go with what I am craving while pregnant. We try to eat mostly vegetables and bake with alternative flours. I often order vegan foods while out to help avoid inflammatory foods.
    We expect our guests to not smoke on our property, take drugs, or drink too much. A beer here or there is no biggy. For the most part we like to keep our home simple, peaceful, and focused on our family life. We meditate and are striving to create a wholesome and loving environment for our kids without unnecessary drama. Still, having 3 girls can be dramatic and loud at times! We also love having friends over once in a while and enjoy lots of play time, music, and laughter. Having a positive outlook and having positive pursuits while also enjoying life moment by moment is how we try to live and we try to surround ourselves with individuals moving down a similar direction.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

This is our guest room you will be staying in.
You will have your own large private room with a king size bed.
A front view of our house with some of our edible Permaculture landscaping visible. We have all kinds of fruit trees, herbs, and a vegetable garden in the back along with our chickens.
The bathroom space...although we might be sharing it sometime we will keep it this clean during your stay!
The girls and I helping at a downtown school garden program we helped develop.
Our dog Copper
Chilling in our tent out in the Valley of Fire.
Danny roleplaying at one of my nature school classes.
Lake Mead is about 30 minutes away.
Hazel and I hanging in the backyard. We always have gardening projects in the works.
Our little Picasso...
Hiking at the Valley of Fire on one of our camping trips.
All 5 of us in one picture is hard to come by!
Our backyard during a lush and productive Spring season. We have made changes since then such as adding the chicken coop and are in the middle of moving are garden beds.
We love getting out to natural areas with groups of homeschoolers every week.

Host ref number: 594881272558