Help with the farm work and horses in Charente, France!



Favourited 62 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    Our family here in Charente, France consists of me (Emma, 23) and my mum Alison, we moved here in August 2014 from County Down, Northern Ireland and we absolutely love it here! We live down a lane way right beside a huge forrest, (prefect for riding, walking, etc.), we have some land, 2 barns and a 4 bedroom farmhouse.
    Right now we have 5 dogs, 3 cats, some chickens and normally about 6/7 horses, some young, some old and some for riding. The horses take up alot of our time with feeding, mucking out, fencing, riding etc. i also compete at some Show Jumping (CSO) shows here in France!
    The rest of the time we have the general farm work, gardening and house work to take care of!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will benefit from Irish hospitality and the laid back (but sometimes busy) way of life here in South-West France. Surrounded by beautiful countryside, (lots of sheep), with the nearest towns Availles-Limouzine (5 minutes away), Confolens (10 minutes), L'Isle Jourdain (15 minutes) and the cities, Angouleme (1 hour away), Limoges (40 minutes), Bordeaux (2 Hours) and Poitiers (1 Hour).

  • Help


    We are looking for someone young, fit, not lazy, happy to help out, with a good character and sense of humor!

    We would love someone to help us with bits and pieces of everything on the farm and a little in the house!

    Help with the horses, I now have atleast 4 in work everyday so it's a possiblity to help take care of them and if you are experienced you can do some hacking too!

    Help with the farm; moving the straw/hay, strimming, chainsawing, chopping wood, etc.. During the summer we will be making hay, which all needs to be collected and stored in the barn after.

    Basically a general handy man/woman! 😃

    Please don't hesitate to ask any questions !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (must speak aleast some english!) and French. My mum also speaks some Dutch, German and Italian!

  • Accommodation


    Your accommodation will be a bedroom in the house with a double bed.

    *️Sorry, but we cant accommodate anyone with animal allergies (we have lots of animals), also vegetarian is no problem but we cant accomodate for Gluten Free or Vegan diets.*️

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For information about things to do in our area search for the website of; Office de Tourisme Availles-limouzine

    You will also be very welcome to come along to any on the many nights out i go to! (Music nights, dinners, lots and lots of fireworks in summer, BBQs, etc.)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

Host ref number: 588242324687