Jungle life, a short walk from the beach Bocas Del Toro, Panama

Country

Panama

Favourited 330 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1196

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I came to Bocas del Toro for 4 days on my way to Colombia. That was 5 and a half years ago! I fell in love with Bastimentos; the peacefulness of the jungle, the beautiful beaches, the easy relaxed lifestyle and the Caribbean people who make me question what's important.
    I have a small cabin surrounded by tropical fruits, beautiful views of the sea, a 30 minute jungle trek to the most beautiful and secluded beach, Playa Wizard.
    Over the years I've been very busy building structures and creating my gardens, mainly edible. There's me and my wonderful animals, 2 dogs, 2 cats, 2 goats, chickens and a free range wild parrot. We often see sloths, armadillos, iguanas and everyday the white faced capuchin monkeys come to visit.
    Your help would be greatly appreciated if you have any special skills like making cob, working with natural materials, I would love to build a cob smoker to make vegan cheese. Oh by the way, I'm vegetarian, so no meat will be served.
    I need help with many little ideas I have from signwriting to graphic design for website and flyers. Gardening is also a huge part of life here, there's always something to plant, prune or create another space.
    I have a dream of holding natural building retreats and classes on permaculture. So if that's your skill area, we can do it together.
    If you think you'd like to stay and help, I would appreciate if you were a none smoker. It's peaceful and offers a place to recharge yourself, feeling calm and relaxed surrounded by natures beauty.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Island life. Enough said.

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly Everything! From gardening to cleaning rooms. Art projects where you can create murals or signs, make natural creams, my list of jobs is endless but lots of fun. We are also in need of a Handyman, from building, plumbing, to electrical stuff. Help maintaining the gardens and taking care of the animals (chickens, cats, dogs, goats). General cleaning, or help with social media, is always appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a shared cabin that currently has one double bed and we are hoping to put in a bunk bed as well. This will act as space for guests and volunteers alike. There is a small kitchen in there and a bathroom with a huge shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Wizard Beach - 20/30 min walk
    Red Frog Beach - 60 min walk or $5 boat ride
    Up in the Hill - Cacao farm and cafe, 7 min walk


    Bastimentos is the largest of the islands, but Isla Colon is the main island (only bank, airport, many shops and restaurants). Iguana Surf Bar is on Colon, a party bar most nights of the week. Isla Carenero is the smallest island and is in between Bastimentos and Colon.

    Bastimentos also has no roads, so no cars - It's awesome!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 576288831519