Would you like to teach english and make music with a 9 years old boy in Istanbul, Turkey?

Country

Turkey

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    I am a single mother living with my 7 years old son and with our cat.

    We live in İstanbul, in Çekmeköy, in a sweet site.
    My son and me like music a lot. We have two pianos (one acustic and one electronic), and an electronic drum set at home.

    My son, is studying at 4th year elementary school, he needs some support for English learning. He is interested in French and Spanish, too. I believe in learning is the best while living, not studying only;
    -and he is very good at improvising on the piano and he has a gorcious rhytmic sense. It would be great for him to play with people to learn sharing and making music together.

    I learned English at school for years. In practice I'm not a perfect speaker but I can express and understand well (I believe:).

    We are looking for a warm housemate,
    + who loves to make spontaneous music. Any person who plays any instrument professionally who can bring her/his instrument and play at home naturally is gladly accepted.
    + who is an English native speaker;
    + who can teach my son English while playing, making music, sometimes cooking with him etc, 1 or 2 hours everyday (up to you and my son, how you feel together that day). My expectations is 8-10 hours a week.
    + has a pedagogical and teaching formation of whether language or music (or experience with teaching and children), and interested in alternative education models,
    + who can cook the dinner 5 days a week. (I buy food from farms I know or organic from the markets. I will buy the food suplies you need for cooking.) (Because he eats at school, dinner is important for us. I pass the day eating salad or snack.)
    + who can do her/his own house work, i.e. laundry, cleaning the hostal room and the bathroom after using... (so you won't leave me extra house work:)
    + who will be ok with eating whatever food is available in the house and won't bring extra food (especially packaged food and junk food and drinks. If you find clean and healty food, please bring:) (And please do not hide food in the room, too. Somehow he explores.)(I really care about natural nutrition and avoid packaged food industry and sweetened drinks, important for me.) You can ask me to buy this or that for common cooking and if I found the healty one, I definitely will buy them.
    + who has a strong will not to use any electronic devices (tablets, ipads, iphones, laptops...) while my son is around (can use while he is at school or sleeping. He sleeps at 21:30. This is what I do.)
    + will be at peace with us not having a television at home (We don't have one. we watch a movie with my son once a week. We use a projector.)
    + travel with us when we travel in vacations and in other escapes to nature (sometimes camping).
    + will have a double-bed room where s/he can stay,
    + will be respectful while sharing the house with all the responsibility of security and peace of the home:)

    He leaves the school at 16:00 p.m. and at home at 16:10. We have a minibus which has an electric system, so we put the electronic piano inside while travelling, which means you can do music on the roads, too:) I prefer to trust the dinamics of the relationship you are going to build with him. Please regard that English learning is the main thing. Making music is also important but I don't want to organise that, it's up to you. Music comes from the heart, I wouldn't like to push anything. If you are a musician and play, and invite him, I believe you can have a connection:)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will see how a single mother and a boy lives in İstanbul. We live in a good site. You can cook for all of us, play with my child a couple of hours everyday and use the room as your accomodation spot in İstanbul for free.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello:)
    if we chose each other, we will be living together for a while so I will try my best to be clear about what I want and what I don't in detail. If you do that, too, I think it will be agood start:) I may miss some details, or maybe basics about the whole picture, please do not hesitate to ask any question.

    As housework, me and my little son were used to manage all of it:) When we live together you shold be responsible from your own housework as well like a respectful house mate, also a good example for my son:)

    Our "NOT, Please" list:
    *️️️ Please do not use any ipads, tablets, cell phones or any technological devices while you are with my child. Please don't let him see you with one of these under your hand most of the time. You can use these kind of devices only when he is not around. We have internet at home and you can use it only when he is at school or while he sleeps at night. I want him to see examples of simplicity and independence from technology.
    *️️️ Please do not buy, bring, eat any junk food or juice to/in the house or share any junk food with my child. We are trying to eat natural as much as we can. We mostly feed on vegetables, fish once a week, very few meat.
    *️️️ Feeding the cat is my son's duty. If you see the cat's plate empty please do not feed her. You can remind my son to feed the cat.
    *️️️ Like reminding him to feed the cat, please do not do my son's duties or works. Instead of doing (cause it's very easy for us to do, but takes time for him to do, or needs patience to help him make his duties and turn them into habits) Reminding and talking about them can be good way to practice English:)
    For example, he doesn't like to have a shower very much and needs to be reminded, and you can make it fun for him, talking about having a shower with funny memories, asking him whether he had shower that day, or when did he take a shower lately...
    *️ Be encouraging in language :)


    Thank you for reading all.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English native speaker

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a comfortable room at home which you can use as your own.

    No TV in the house, but many books and games...

    I have a little minibus we travel around by.

    I hope you'll enjoy all the time you spend together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in Çekmeköy, Mimar Sinan mah, in the sites area. There is an open pool which you may use in summer.
    You can take the bus to everywhere easily and discover İstanbul. We go to big parks by the seaside at the weekends, you may joing us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    10-15 hours a week

My son Ada and me, Burcu
me, Burcu and my son, Ada
Host ref number: 574456777728