Come and help to reconstruct an old finca near Tijarafe, La Palma, Canary Islands

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 446 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    151

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings, travellers!
    This is an old canary Finca over Tijarafe on the cosy island of La Palma, From our Area we have a fantastic view over Tijarafe and the Atlantic Ocean.
    Our way of living is to live close to nature, reduce our eco footprint, low energy consumption and as less intervention in environment as needed. We want to show alternative, sustainable lifestyle based on permaculture, natural farming and ecobuilding.
    We are vegan.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are seeking wolunteers who are interested and willing to learn what this place has got to offer. Our aim is that you learn a lot while you are working here and take benefit from the experience. We believe that everyone has important things to offer, areas of relative expertise and various talents, so we try to provide a space for sharing knowledge. We are looking for wolunteers to work on permaculture, eco-building, renovation/construction, natural farming.

  • Help

    Help

    Our main project is to reconstruct old finca, of which history has began more as 200 years ago, and lift it to a sustainable modern biodynamic Farm, by applying principles from permaculture, food forests, oasis gardening and eco building.

    We try to understand what and why the people living here do. This Finca was now abandoned for 40 Years, the last time one lived here, was in a time there was no road.. The Area is spreaded over 820 - 910 M Altitude.. You can not expect any flat and easy way.. between two levels there are many times just some rocks you can use as stairs..

    In this Environment we do reconstruction jobs, mostly building terrace walls from rocks.. working for the soil by cleaning, preparing mulch material, making charcoal and compost.. and all the tasks a garden needs..

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a outdoor bathroom with toilet, hot shower and washing machine.

    Our Kitchen and the area around is something like a communal zone.. the heart of the finca.. in the kitchen you find always some food, fruits, veggies and so on.. our kitchen is vegan.. please respect this..

    We have for our volunteers 2 Pajeros (around 10 sqm) and a Cave (around 20 sqm) spreaded over our Area.
    All Rooms have Light, a Door and a Power Outlet for Charging the Phone and so on..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We welcome all volunteers that are interested in our project and have read our profile completely. We really love to make a short trial period around 2 weeks and if everyone is happy you're welcome to stay longer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wi-fi

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 573897718396