Enjoy all that Spain has to offer at our family home in Andalucia between Almeria and Murcia

Country

Spain

Favourited 178 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/06/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We need help this month being February 2020 as we need to get some projects completed.
    Having not being able to commit to having workaways over the last couple of years due to family bereavements and my health not being too good. We have very much missed this opportunity for meeting people from all over the world and hope that we will catch up with some of you this year on your workaway journey.

    We have lived in Spain on and off for a number of years in various locations, we just love Spain........

    Our location now is Andalucia Spain between Almeria and Murcia

    The house is nestled on a side of a hill with a vista of almond trees all around us. The house is on two levels
    and has four bedrooms and two bathrooms although I will confess that I have taken over one of the bedrooms
    for my Craft Room.

    Just a couple of hours from either Murcia and Almeria airports so great links to UK and the rest of the world.
    Our nearest town of Albox some 14km approx down the mountain has great shopping facilities,
    markets, bars, restaurants. There is no public transport down to the town so we have to use our car.
    Although we do have a bar and small local shop within walking distance along the river bed.....

    The family consists of Ourselves Karen and Alan plus one over friendly Labrador. He loves everyone, food,
    walks and sleeping plus lots of cuddles.

    Although we have been in Spain on and off for a number of years we are are still not fluent in Spanish.
    however, we try to use Spanglish as much as we can and of course, we are improving all the time.

    We both have a great sense of humor and adore the outside life, which is why we live here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Between us we have a host of life skills that we are more than happy to share, such as cooking, talking, painting, basic gardening, some languages English basic French and Spanish. Sewing machine repair knowledge, sewing and wide range of art and craft skills. Both parties would benefit from just sharing time, conversation good food and a glass of wine

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The house is set on the side of the hill with a rambling garden and no swimming pool (as yet).
    Need time to tweek the garden and perhaps add some sun decks also build an above ground swimming pool
    including a bbq and kitchen area with decking.
    There is a large garage being converted into art and craft studios.
    These are just a few of our ongoing thoughts and projects but no pressure.

    Painting walls that is in and outside, maybe some fencing to keep MAX (our lovable Black Lab) from wondering
    off down the hill to see the neighbours dogs.

    Making furniture from recycled wood such as pallets is another option for jobs to be done.
    So if you love working with your hands and wood maybe this one is for you.

    We both have different interests and business and would very much appreciate a good TYPIST
    for some urgent copy typing.......

    Also anyone who as photography and video skills would be a great help.

    We are currently looking at some new projects that will involve, the internet, plus Art and Crafts.
    My Background is Hospitality,Tourism and Events.
    My other half is in the sewing machine industry, and has a number of projects on the
    go writing technical manuals, producing videos and training programmes

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is on the first floor of the house with two single beds.
    There is a shared bathroom on this floor,( with another bathroom downstairs), also access to a large terrace.
    You will have meals with us Breakfast Lunch and Dinner Karen loves cooking

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As the house is situated away from the main road walking shoes and a healthy attitude to walking is necessary as the track is uneven. We will be able to collect and return you from a convenient point for your stay.
    There will be times when we can show you the local area.

    The nearest airport is Almeria and Murcia and if you book earlier with Easyjet you can get some real bargains.

    We dont expect you to be a slave to us , its about enjoying the whole experience that Spain has to offer.
    Plus GOOD FOOD-GREAT CONVERSATIONS and PLEASANT COMPANY.
    Best of all meeting new people from around the world sharing lives experiences today and in the future.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Hours will be various depending on project 2 / 5 hours with two days off

















Host ref number: 568162811341