Work and live with our family on a stunning Scottish island

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/01/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1704

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello there, we are a couple in our 30s with a fun family of two small children. My boyfriend is a music producer who travels a lot. We are up at my family house on the beautiful island of Lismore in Scotland for some of the summer. It is an amazing place and grounds and there is loads to do! The house is very large so lots of space for a guest. It is utterly beautiful - an old seminary built around 1800. We would like a enthusiastic and friendly young person to come be a part of the family and team whilst up there. We all work in the day on various things, and there are always things to do!

    It's is a 2 hour drive from Glasgow and then you get the ferry from Oban (or drive 2.5 hours through Glen Coe to Port Appin where the ferry is shortest - just 10 minutes). There is a large Tesco in Oban from which we get most of our food and groceries (we would provide). Lismore is stunning and in your spare time you can walk over the hills, fish, and explore all around - there is an island community hall with various activities and we will often have guests :-)

    WE WILL UPDATE WHEN WE NEXT NEED PEOPLE!! THANK YOU!!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hmm... well in many of these areas we have some experience to offer. But most of all it's an opportunity to come and live with us on a stunning Scottish island - we are down one end where there are very few houses... it's really beautiful, outdoors, with lost of history. All the work would be team work and working with us and good fun. If you want to see the islands and highlands of Scotland this would be a lovely way to do it!

  • Help

    Help

    We are interested in people who could help with any, or a combination of the below. Often this will be working in combination with one of us:

    I guess number one is: any help with my two children!
    Tree planting - i buy trees and bare roots, but also transplant from one of our woodlands
    Gardening and maintenance
    Creative gardening - planting and creating a vegetable patch
    Garden furniture - particularly children's swings, benches made from our wood or seating areas
    Cooking
    Art work - a children's painter
    Creating a children's playroom
    Bringing in the wood and helping around the grounds
    Social media and marketing
    Logo and art design work (for my boyfriend's music work)
    T-shirt printing or design experience

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, my partner speaks Spanish too

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Choice of bedroom (double bed), bathroom. Kitchen, sitting room, internet. Lots of space! A guest will generally provide and cook their own food, though i am happy to pay for a basic shop - but is welcome to eat with us too a lot of the time! My boyfriend cooks a lot.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is the first time i have listed here, so please ask any questions! It's new to me!!

    Expectations - we do want someone who is polite, friendly and well mannered! And who cleans up after themselves in the kitchen - absolutely must not create work for us!! And gets up in the mornings with an open 'can do' attitude!! That would be lovely. No smokers please.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 547248297856