Help on the Homestead and around the house in Chelan, Washington state, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/01/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am looking for help at my 20-acre mountain home in the eastern/sunny side of Washington state. I'm a 66 y/o male that currently lives alone. The responsibilities of caring for and preparing my property are becoming too much for me alone. I'm hoping to find a person (or two?) who are willing to help with anything from gardening to snow shoveling.

    In return, I can provide a place to live, company/companionship, meals, etc.. Ideally looking for a long-term person interested in making my place your home. You can take your pick of a room in the house, trailer on property or even set up your own outdoor living like a tent or tepee. Whatever makes you happy!

    My property experiences all four seasons, so you'll get to see snow, springtime flowers and hot sunny days. There is a beautiful lake nearby to cool down and escape summer heat. My property has power, water from a well, wood heat and occasionally TV channels. Otherwise the radio is always on and I'm usually outside working on something! I currently have chickens and am interested in possibly adding other livestock (goats?), but gardening is my number one goal for improving sustainability.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I feel I live in one of the most beautiful places in the world. Aside from having all four seasons, there are views of snow-capped mountains, glacier fed lakes and regularly blue skies. My home is also less than a day's drive from numerous other environments, including scrub desert, high mountains, the Canadian border temperate rainforests and even the Pacific Ocean.

    As for learning, though I don't consider myself much of a teacher, I'm more than happy to share any experience I've gained over my 40+ years living here in which I built my house from salvaged materials, ran off-the-grid through the mid-90's, repaired numerous vehicles, raised chickens and started/restarted gardens. I've been a smoke-slider for the USFS, self-employed tree topper, snow-plowed, and even a short stint as a partner in a restaurant. Your opportunity to learn is limited only by your willingness!

  • Help

    Help

    The kind of help I'm looking for will run the gamut from sharing household chores (if you choose a bedroom), gardening, building storage shelves to mechanical if you are so inclined.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can choose a room in my home or a trailer on my property. There is only one bathroom, but sharing is caring, right? I'm happy to supply meals, but would appreciate sharing meal prep and ideas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Options are available. We'll have to discuss details for this.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets are negotiable, with the caveat that this is the wilderness. There are birds-of-prey, coyotes and even the occasional bear or cougar in the area, so small animals are not recommended. That said, I do have two cats who've been my companions here for a number of years without incident.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 546648598983