Live with us, be part of our happy home. Receive free accommodation including internet and utilities and free food in exchange for part time housework and child minding.



Favourited 108 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  • Description


    We are looking for someone willing to stay at least six months (provided a one month trial is successful) from 1st August 2016. We are looking for one person (preferably female given our male heavy household), but could consider a couple if you are willing to cover food costs for the extra person.

    • Own room in a beautiful house 12 minutes from the cbd and 15 mins from the beach by train (we live opposite the train station) and less than ten minutes’ walk from Yarraville shops, including the famous Sun cinema
    • Mostly organic food – includes all meals and snacks except ‘special treats’ and alcohol – however, if we are having a beer or a wine, we always share. We’ll pay for the food, but you’ll prepare a lot of it as part of your hours.
    • Electricity, gas, water, unlimited internet, Netflix
    • Learn how to prepare healthy, delicious whole foods, yoghurt, bread, home-made pasta and more – and how to manage a household

    • Min 6 month commitment (if 1 month trial is successful). The longer you can stay, the better.
    • Around 25 hours of light work over the week. Much of the work would be things you would do as part of living in your own house anyway. Duties comprise:
    o Meal plan and shop for the week (approx. 3 hrs pw)
    o Prepare dinner Monday-Thursday (4-6 hrs pw)
    o Clean house (5-6 hrs pw)
    o Pick up kids from school one day per week and look after them (1.5 hrs pw)
    o Dishes Monday-Thursday (2-3hrs pw)
    o Extra jobs as needed such as: ironing, making yoghurt, bread, pasta, freezer meals and cakes/slices for school lunches or babysitting
    • Our current helper also joins Katerina for early morning exercise 3-5 times per week. This is not required, but will be looked on favourably.
    • Participate in our ‘family’ and be willing to integrate into the household we have created and be respectful of our home.
    NOTE: Whilst we have preferred days of the week for many of these jobs, there is some flexibility to accommodate other commitments you may have, such as study or work

    We are a family of four (Joel, Katerina, Mischa & Jasper), but we also live with a friend (Mitch) and we have a very fluid household. People often drop in and we’ll invite them for dinner and we sometimes have other commitments, so whilst there is almost always somebody home, it is always a bit of a surprise how many people we will be at any one time, including at dinner time.

    Joel owns his own building company, Katerina is CEO of a start-up not-for-profit that raises public awareness about climate change. Mischa is 11 and Jasper 6. They both go to school. Mitch is a boiler-maker/jack of all trades. We have two dogs, Spargo and Soot. They are both 8 – large, but friendly.

    We aren’t vegetarian, we do not eat much meat, so if you can’t live without meat, this is NOT the house for you. We don’t smoke, but Mitch does – he only smokes outside.

    This is what our current ‘helper’ says about her time with us:
    "Living with Kat and Joel's family has been an amazing experience! After a year and a half of backpacking I can't describe how nice it was to live as part of a family again. A year later I'm heartbroken to be leaving.

    I've learned a lot of little skills during my time here but what stands out most for me is that I've learned what it takes to keep a busy household running, and I've loved every bit of it. I came here with basic cooking skills and am leaving with a confidence in the kitchen! I'm grateful to Kat for letting me experiment and practice different dishes and guiding me along the way (thanks for teaching me how to make pasta!!). I've learned how to cook for a family and all the coordination involved (planning meals, estimating quantities and cooking times of various parts of the meal) and I've loved working with organic and fresh ingredients.

    Kat and Joel make conscious lifestyle choices to be environmentally friendly and socially responsible, and I have really enjoyed learning from them and becoming a more engaged and aware human being. Being environmentally friendly, eating nutritious and whole foods, and being open minded are just a few of the things that make this house a beautiful environment to live in and be a part of.

    I'm going to miss everything about this place. The early morning cuddles with the boys, cuddles with the dogs, the weekly grocery shop in Yarraville with all the usual faces (such a great little community atmosphere in the suburbs around here!), morning exercises with Kat (seriously!), great conversations with Joel and Mitch in the backyard, sitting watching the chooks, literally everything.

    For me, this family has become my family. A helper with a genuine interest to interact, connect, and learn valuable life skills would really benefit living in this household."

    Given how many males we have already, we would prefer a female, but aren’t ruling out a male.

    We are looking for someone who will enjoy sharing meals with us, chatting by the fire sometimes, having cuddles in bed with our younger son (he is very affectionate) or playing card games with the kids, not because these are ‘duties’, but because you enjoy being part of our family.

    We are looking for someone who respects our values and our attempts to live by those values and will do their best to live by those values too (without being puritanical about it). In general, we try to live a life that is healthy and minimises our impact on the planet whilst contributing as much as we can to the betterment of society.

    We would prefer a non-smoker, but as long as you don’t smoke inside or in front of the kids, it’s really none of our business.

    We want someone willing to learn and try new ways of doing things, but who is also able to take initiative when needed; someone systematic and with an eye for detail, who takes pride in their work and takes the same care in keeping our home as we do and someone who is flexible and tolerant of our busy lives and fluid household.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Help


    We offer food and accommodation in exchange for 20 hrs work per week per person, plus a fair share of housework - mainly dishes.

    Over November and December work we will need help with will be: looking after kids, including school pickups; house cleaning; and general unskilled labour on our building site.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Can speak a bit of German, Spanish and French

  • Accommodation


    You will have a room of your own in our house. It is in the old Edwardian part of our house, so it is a little cold in winter, but very comfortable in summer. It is a spacious and fitted with a Queen sized bed, hanging space and drawers and a little desk.

    You will share a bathroom and separate toilet with our kids and Mitch.

    The house itself is quite large - an old Edwardian shop front that has a modern extension out the back with a big garden. The house is 90% finished, but we are still finishing of bits. It is perfectly livable though

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 per person per week

Host ref number: 543278488434