Help us take care of the lands & build eco-friendly houses in Las Canadillas, Spain

Country

Spain

new host  

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Thank you for taking the time to read us!

    We would love to welcome you at here if you’re looking for nature, sun, mountains, good vibes and hand/land activities.

    The Cortijo is situated in the beautiful valley of Padre Eterno in Carataunas.

    We are Pauline (28y) & Victor (34y) and live here with Victor’s family (mum & sister).

    ABOUT US:

    I’m from Brussels in Belgium and moved here to enjoy the beautiful nature, sun and slower lifestyle. I am giving art and language courses. love travelling, sharing good moments with people and discovering new things.

    Victor was born and raised here and knows the region by heart. After living 7 years in Scotland and several years in Madrid, he came back to his hometown in January 2020. He is a mountain guide and will love to show you the best hiking places around.

    The Cortijo Las Cañadillas is beautiful, surrounded by mountains, forests and lots of lands. Carataunas lies in the natural and historical region of the Alpujarras in Andalusia.

    We want to take care of these beautiful lands, make them fertile, plant trees and build houses in eco-friendly material. In the future, we would like to make the place self-sustainable and welcome travellers, campers, hikers, peace-seekers and nature lovers alike.

    We are therefore looking for like-minded people to help us make this dream become true !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    NATURE: Check the Alpujarras, Sierra Nevada on the Internet and see by yourself (we are around Soportujar & Carataunas)

    ACTIVITIES: Hiking, bike, running, walking, yoga, painting, snow, dance, handwork, … There are sport possibilities enough here.

    CULTURE: Historic places, typical villages, a Buddhist centre, Granada at 1,5h by car, the sea at 30min by car.

  • Help

    Help

    There is enough to do here, you won’t get bored!

    - Build an outdoor toilet, shower and sink
    - Build an outdoor kitchen, wood houses
    - Build fences to keep out the wild pigs
    - Demolish & rebuild ancient ruins into houses
    - Basically, everything that has to do with the construction of houses
    (we want to build our houses as ecological-
    friendly as possible so all help and idea’s with that is more than welcomed)
    - Clean the lands: chopping wood, plant trees, take out the weeds
    - Rebuild walls (bancales)
    - Watering the lands in a traditional way (our neighbour will happily teach you how it used to be done)
    - Harvest fruits
    - Harvest olives (and make olive oil)

    => On the long-term, we would love to be a site where hiking camps, art retreats, sports,... are organised :)

    => Creating a COMMUNITY.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For the moment, we can offer space for your campervan/motorhome/tents. We can provide one tent as well.

    Water & electricity are provided. One outside dry toilet is already built and for you to use. The outside shower/kitchen are under construction :)

    We don't offer food for the moment but feel free to take all fruits and veggies from the garden and lands. Every Sunday, our neighbour makes delicious bread for a cheap price as well :) If you plan to stay longer than three weeks, we are happy to discuss together on offering you food and sharing meals :) It's too complicated for us to arrange food with Workawayers who stay less than three weeks (different hours, diets, organisation...) so we decided to ask for less working hours to compensate for the lack of food we offer the first three weeks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transports: we advise you to come here by car/van to be fully autonomous as it is a 25min walk to the main road. From there (stop Padre Eterno) you have a bus (ALSA line) that passes by twice a day to go to villages in the region (Orgiva, Soportujar, Capileira, Pitres, Trevelez,...)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We are actually looking for people who can help us making video's for our website. if you're skilled with that, let us know !!! :-D

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a lot of space to put campervans and have your own privacy.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 535822552451