Personal organic garden project in Wörrstadt, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello my name is Lisa and I started a garden project this year after returning from my two years travel in Asia and New Zealand. I mostly traveled from work away to work away to learn about gardening and farming as it is my dream to someday have a own farm and to become a market gardener selling organic fruit and vegetables grown on healthy soil. Market gardening is a special farming technique for small scale organic farming. I also like to become more self sustainable but still have a lot to learn and a long way to go. My passion is food, gardening and nature in general. I believe our food system and agriculture is in desperate need of a revolution and our planet and soil needs to be treated better to unfold it's full potential.
    My garden is still small but I am looking for bigger land and the moment. I work at a organic shop part time to be able to spend a fair amount of time in the garden. Therefore money is short at the moment but living a simple life is cheap. If you want to come help out in the garden and / or love cooking, baking and trying out things in the kitchen I'm happy to meet you. If you have gardening experience I would love to exchange knowledge and ideas.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in south west Germany surrounded by wine yards. Here you can easily explore famous wine areas of Germany. I am vegetarian almost vegan so no German sausages sorry. Also not a beer fan. I wouldn't say I'm a typical German but I am a travelling, nature loving, social, yogi, gardener, baker, former social worker, silence loving, big hearted Germans living in Germany.
    I love people that are authentic and open minded. And I believe there is something to learn from everybody.

  • Help

    Help

    Whatever nature tells me. A lot of maintenance and maybe creating a new garden bed. Preparing for autumn and research. Building a new compost bin. Harvesting. Helping with Fermentation of food. Weeding of course.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room in the flat with mattress on floor. Shared bathroom and kitchen. You need to have a driving license because my village has no train station and only one school bus tour in the morning.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There will not be meat at my home ever. And you need to have a drivers license.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is unlimited WiFi. It doesn't work as fast as I'm sharing the thing with my neighbours but it's enough to browse and upload etc.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 529755644926