Cooking enthusiast to live with our family in Medellin, Colombia

Country

Colombia

updated  

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 people living in Medellín Colombia; in the beautiful neighborhood of Laureles. We live in a big 2 Story house, with a big terrace, a balcony and a garden in the outside. The house is very well located, only 2 blocks away from Floresta metro station, so there is plenty of transportation available at a cheap price.

    As mentioned before, the house has 2 floors. We live in the first one and in the second one, the parents, Alfonso and Judith have a small atelier of clothes.

    The big season of the atelier starts from August to December, and during this season we need some help in the kitchen. We are basically looking for someone that enjoys cooking and learning new recipes; also that is willing to teach and prepare the ones from your country or region.

    We are not expecting to have a chef, but just someone that enjoys cooking; and is willing to prepare the sufficient amount of food for lunch and dinner once per day (for 4 people, including the workawayer since Sofia, the daugther is abroad; and being the lunch the same as the dinner).

    Since cooking shouldn't take more than 2 hours per day, and you only have to cook from Monday to Friday, doing the dishes would be necessary to amount to about three hours per day. Therefore to complete about four hours per day in average, we also ask you to make a general cleaning of the first floor of the house once per week.

    In exchange you will have a comfortable private bedroom with a balcony, the cultural exchange of living in a very active and lively city + sharing with a local family whilst improving or practicing your spanish and cooking skills. And of course you can eat from the same food you prepare !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in a colombian family will give you the opportunity to learn not only spanish, but also more implicit cultural aspects. Also, if you want we can teach you some traditional recipes!

    Medellin is a wonderfull city. with the best public transportation in Colombia, a wide variety of cultural activities for all tastes. We are sure you have heard about Medellin so there's not much need for a description :)

    The area where the house is located, is a very typical zone, where you will get the real colombian taste; and you will get to interact with locals everyday.

    The stadium complex is just 10 mins walk from the house, and you can excersise for free there, use the swimming pools, go to lessons of different sports...

    You will be only 2 blocks away from Floresta Metro station which is great for going around the city.

    Furthermore you will enjoy from one of the best weathers! ;)

  • Help

    Help

    This how your schedule will look like every week:

    - We would like you to cook from Monday to Friday in the morning, Since we have lunch at around 12. We suggest to cook the sufficient amount for both lunch and dinner (we eat the same for lunch as for dinner, and we are big soup lovers) - you would have to wash the dishes as well.

    We calculate a maximum of 3 hous per day for cooking and washing the dishes. We don't care at what time you wash them as long as the kitchen is clean and organized at the end of the day.

    - Either Thursdays or fridays will be the cleaning day. You only have to do a general cleaning of the first floor of the house (sweeping, mopping, cleaning the bathrooms... )

    Sundays and Saturdays are free.

    After you cook and wash the dishes you have the rest of the day for you, and you can enjoy it as you like!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, english and German. (The parents only speak spanish)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room with a double-size bed and a balcony.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will enjoy every day of your experience and have a lot of free time as you can see. We can introduce you to our friends and family - we love dancing, specially salsa! :)

    Daniel, the Brother, can take you to free salsa lessons and to enjoy the weekends in different ways, like dacing, having a beer, going to a concert... etc

    If you smoke, you should do it outside of the house or in the terrace. We don't accept pets, children, or couples.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 527516137591