Help needed now in a horse riding company in Caribe, Colombia.

Country

Colombia

updated  

Favourited 748 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    843

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Loïs. At the end of 2017 I did an awesome WorkAway at a horse tour company. And guess what? I got the amazing posibility to take it all over.

    We offer horseback tours to tourists at the Caribbean coast of Colombia. The horses have a history of being abused and underfed, with training and love they regained trust in people.

    Check the calendar for availability throughout the year.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will live in a small Colombian village, where you will be forced to use (or improve) your Spanish skills. We will teach you how to take care of horses, how to feed them, keep them healthy, get in touch with nature and get a feel for real Colombian life. If you are interested in horses we are perfect for you, in most western countries the vets, the stable and other people take care of a lot of things to do with the horses such as mixing the food, taking blood, fixing the hooves and general care of the horses. We are doing all these things by ourselves and offering you the chance to learn how to do them too.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a horse riding company set in a small village called Buritaca, between the parque Nacional Tayrona and Palomino. We are offering tours on the beach, along the river, up the mountains and the surrounding area of buritaca.

    If you are experienced with riding and taking care of horses, feel confident leading a horse tour, don't mind getting up early to feed the horses and clean around them and just love spending time with animals we are looking for you!

    The horses have to be fed every morning. On the days when we have tour, you and another volunteer will lead the tour. On the other days or if you don't lead the tour we will focus on training the horses that are still a bit difficult to get them ready for the tours. I also have a baby horse that loves attention, and we will be training her to.

    We will be 3 people sharing all that workload.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a small house next to the main road of Buritaca. I share this house with a couple from Europe and a lovely baby dog. You will share the room with another volunteer. We have a shared kitchen you are free to use, we even have an oven. Our house is about 30 min walking from the beach (or like 5 minutes with a moto taxi) and near several awesome hostels in the area to hang out in your free time.

    I provide accommodation, drinking water and per working day I provide (ingredients for) one warm meal.

    We don't have WIFI in the house, you need to buy a SIM of Claro to get access to internet (costs around 45.000 COP per month for 2GB and unlimited Whatsapp and Facebook). At some hostels you can use WIFI but this might be limited.

    The house is approximately 20 min walk from where the horses are. With a motortaxi you are like 5 minutes away from beautiful beaches.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Buritaca is 20 min from the parque Nacional Tayrona, so the entire area is full of beautiful beaches. Another 20 min down the road is palomino, which is a very popular travel destination as well. 10 min walking from our house is a beach where the Rio Buritaca joins the sea, it's a touristy small town but any direction left or right are empty beautiful beaches. There as several amazing waterfalls close by such as quebrada valencia or the Rio Buritaca so swim in and cool off in. We have a couple of cool hostels in the area where you can hang out, have delicious dinners and meet new people, sometimes even party if you want to.

    One more thing: Wifi on the entire coast is not yet available. However there are a couple of options for you to stay connected: You can get a sim card with very affordable data plans and internet is normally good enough for most things (we run our business on it ;)). There is a small shop near our house that has satelite wifi, so you can use their services, or go to our friends hostels nearby (10 min drive) where our volunteers can use wifi for free.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    It varies a lot

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 527261964261