Help in my rural home. Plenty of books to read. Peaceful but 30 mins to central London! plus a walk and a bus ride....

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 488 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    new year, new challenges, looking to start a new venture here that i need help with, its such a great idea im keeping it quiet. if you are interested in being involved contact me. It has to do with fruiting mould. lol
    I have started to become obsessed with pottery and sculpture, so anybody that could fashion a small wood or gas fired kiln from recycled materials would be my friend forever. I have my eye on some big oil drums right now. and if you can turn an old bicycle into a pottery wheel, i might implode with joy...
    We have been travelling for a year in Portugal, back now to sooo many jobs, seeking active gardening helper..this was written in 2016, increased vegetable patches since, and changed plans re treehouse, more interested in creating art space now, pottery, ideally.
    I am still a self employed book dealer, who has a large rural home in woodland, with lovely views.
    I am looking for practical helpers , that is
    someone who can use a chainsaw, to store firewood,
    someone who can lift and move heavy things, i have a bad back,
    someone who can build or mend things, and who likes recycled materials, minimal impact designs
    someone who is skilled in some practical thing....wood work, carpentry, tiling,

    i do not need child care now as I have a mature teenager who does housework!!


    I would like to perhaps build an outside shelter, eco toilet and a tree house. We used to Look after 5 rescue chickens here, so there were lots of lovely free range eggs, now time to get some new ones...
    accommodation is provided in a caravan, or there is plenty of room to camp. The caravan which needs renovation, is another project.....I am actively looking for someone who would like to help us fix it and decotrate it so it is beautiful for the next helpers to stay in....

    There is a lot of general maintenance work to do here....ALWAYS!!! But I prefer to create artistic rustic solutions to some of the areas of the site. The house is on the side of a hill, hence the amazing views, and there are areas in the woodland that I would like to develop for camping/ yurts in the future.
    I welcome ideas from helpers, and enjoy having new people to visit.
    Gatwick airport is annoyingly close to us, so there is easy access in and out of here.
    I also sell stuff on ebay that I find, I enjoy getting free stuff and making use of it, putting it back to work, rather than it ending up in landfill.
    There are wonderful walks around my home, and easy access to Redhill station, which is 30 minutes by train to central london.
    Bletchingley has 6 nice old country pubs.
    It is easy to reach both london and brighton from here.

    IMPORTANT

    If you apply please follow through the whole process, thank u
    It is not possible to set up these placements without communication.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    that really is up to them, we love having visitors to stay, it makes life interesting, i hope for both sides. i would like to help visitors on their path if i can, and i am resourceful and helpful.

  • Help

    Help

    Typically volunteers spend 5 days a week helping out, 5 hours a day, but I am quite flexible.

    We have a large garden, and a need for some new steps, hand rails to be put up, a compost toilet to be created, and many other jobs of maintenance and repair.
    I prefer mature volunteers who can work unsupervised, who like to or are willing to use recycled materials and are creative and above all, practical.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, spanish, some Portuguese, french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    THe only accommodation is in a 2 bed caravan that has seen far better days. Everything is watertight in there, but I would not be boasting about its beauty! ONe end of the caravan needs some repair, and that would be the first job!
    room/ work for one volunteer

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The location here is good for visiting London or Brighton. There are cheap buses to Brighton from the end of the road, and trains to london from all the nearby towns, Redhill, Oxted, Caterham. The journey takes about 35 mins to the center of London and costs around £10 return. It is helpful to have a bicycle here, I have a really old one you can borrow, as it is a 15-20 minute walk to the nearest shop and bus stop....
    The local area is densely wooded and very attractive walks and bike rides are literally on your doorstep, so we have a good mix of rural and city life easily accessible. The Greensand Way, a long distance foot and bridle path is outside the house!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/ 5 hours a day 5 days a week

new veggie patch
kid and cat
Deer who live in the local woods, visiting the garden
My daughter and friends playing on the ropes course and swings in the garden!
rural for as far as the eye can see, but close to london for a night out
camping in portugal a couple of years ago
chicken home made by a helper .. the fabulous chicken house, now needing some tlc.
3 new skinny rescue chickens, now gone, but need some new ones to rescue, waiting for birdflu to be gone










Host ref number: 523472137752