Garden and renovate with fun Americans in beautiful SW France

Country

France

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/06/2019

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Lori & her wife Kristen own this farmhouse together with Kristen's brother Rob and his wife Rebecca since 2014. We love this house (and this part of France) and aim to live here part of the year after retirement. Its an old farmhouse from the 1700s that has had a couple of additions put on. We also have a gite, a cottage, a barn and a pool. We've been modernising and improving everything bit by bit. Until now, we've been hosting work parties for our friends every year to get more done. Lori and Rebecca speak French (Lori passably, Rebecca fluently). Kris is an amazing cook, and if you happen to be here when she is, you will get some really good food. Rob is a retired fire fighter with mad skills on projects. We are not always all here at the same time, so your host could be any of the 4 of us, or all of us. We enjoy each other's company and may play card games or organise a bonfire in the evening. The more the merrier! We are happy to host groups of friends. We can take 4 singles or 3 couples.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a lovely area of France and the local people are friendly and very willing to chat. St Antonin-de-Noble-Val is only 3km from the house. This is a medieval town with a rich history and one of the best Sunday markets in the region. The Aveyron Gorges are perfect for biking, canoeing and hiking.

  • Help

    Help

    Our home, gite, and pool are situated on a large piece of land. We need help to improve the landscaping. Things like cutting back brambles, taking out dead bushes and trees(small!), and planting new things. We also need help upgrading the interior. We are renovating room by room and need help prepping and painting walls, doors, and windows. In the autumn we aim to build an outdoor kitchen. There is also a fair amount of general upkeep like cleaning out the garage, power washing the stone steps, etc. Sometimes we will have an ongoing project that needs help but generally, you can pick the project you like best.

    The work for 2018 is physical work, so we would prefer volunteers who are physically fit. Lots of gardening in February and March. April and May are kitchen renovation. We would especially love someone who has experience building outdoor structures like stone patios or wood decks to help us in October. Lots of mortar repairs needed as well as new construction.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer you a private 2-bedroom gite while you stay with us. Bed linens and towels provided. Access to pool during warm months. We generally have meals in the main house kitchen or outside in nice weather. The gite has its own kitchen if you prefer to make your own food but we hope you will join us! We eat meat and vegetables at dinner. Lunch is often salad, cheese and charcuterie. Breakfast is self-serve: toast, yogurt, fruit, muesli. Gluten-free food easily provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are 4 trail heads at the end of the valley so hiking is instantly available. Canoeing starts in St. Antonin. There are castles, caves, and cute towns nearby. The postal code for the region is 82140 if you want more information.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gite sitting room - for work-awayers
Gite bathroom
Gite bedroom 1 - for workawayers
main house
Host ref number: 519557621427