Come and help us to look after a bubbly active girl in a relaxed household in In Melbourne, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The role is starting after the mid January 2020 in Melbourne near the Dandenong Ranges, and the wineries which is just beautiful. We have beautiful birds in our back garden even.

    There is my daughter Kiri who is 12 years old and she is a bubbly, dancing bright girl and myself Julianne. I work full-time in the building industry as a commercial project manager and need some assistance with my daughter and the house, to help everything happen.

    We are a very easy going happy fun family, even though we are small, we have a funny fat cat, who is a bit moody lol. Two beautiful relaxed rabbits who own the back garden. We enjoy eating good healthy quality food because Kiri and I both have wheat intolerances, so we are rather healthy here. I don't smoke but I do like a glass of wine occasionally

    Kiri plays netball, goes to girl guides and she also does ballroom dancing which she loves. We are a very caring family, always doing things to help others in our community. We also try to walk rescue dogs on the weekends, when ever you can from our local vet. You can do this also, it really fun and beautiful dogs that need a lot of attention.

    Must have a international drivers license for this role, and speak English please thankyou. As there is a car included in this role, which you will be needing to drive my daughter to school etc. You can use the car for personal trips in Melbourne but you will need to pay for petrol in the car. I will be giving you money for fuel for driving my daughter to school and back and going to the park. There is the train nearby to park the car and go to the city, for festivals etc.

    Where we live in Melbourne it is a really central place, as a base for your weekend get away. You will be able to go and do some great trips to the great ocean road or Phillip Island or the Dandenong Ranges, the redwood Forest etc which can be done from my house. Some places are 40minutes away and others 2 hours but amazing sights.

    We are a very happy household with a great attitude and we enjoy having interesting people visiting us and helping us, so that I can work, I have been sick recently and I do need some assistance around the house.

    If someone would like to join us for a months, you are most welcome, you would be included in family outings to a meal and any other outings if you are interested.

    We will take you out to some of the great natural wonders, near our house. We will help you with all the travel ideas and lend you gear to go away on trips, to make it easier for you to see as much of the natural wonders in our state.

    We also walk rescue dogs from the local vet while they are being rehabilitated and its just wonderful, we love it and the gods love it too. Come along and lets check out the local bush and paths in our area.

    Melbourne is amazing city and the train line is nearby to the city, heaps of free activities. I do take my workaway people to festivals, like the light festival recently or a food festival or recently we went to see a Melbourne University Open Day for learning how to make ice cream and eating it afterwards, or to hiking trips.

    On occasions, I may ask you to do something, like change sheets for a guests bed, in my house. On these occasions, I will pay the workaway person some money to assist me. Thank you

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will teach you some English and they will learn Australian customs and language. We will take them to local attractions because we are close to the Dandenong Ranges and the Yarra Valley, which are beautiful for sight seeing and hiking with the amount of native birds to see and to see the amazing lush bushland in this area.
    WE are also near the Healesville Sanctuary which is the home of all the native animals and you can pat a kangaroo and they have an increabile bird show twice a day there.

    They will learn and see how friendly and kind Australians are and how I am bringing up an independent strong child. They will be included in family functions with my extended family also. I have been hosting Au Pairs for the past 7 years and all our previous aupairs are still our friends, we so enjoy having people from different counties at our house.

    I am interested in lowering our carbon footprint and I compost all our food straps and create soil. You can see all the recycling ideas that I have done at my house and learn how to do them. So less rubbish leaves my house.
    We use rain water to flush our toilets and solar panels for our power for the house partially at this stage.

    To note that we live near the hills and sightseeing places, in South Croydon Melbourne, please Google it. It is just beautiful in this area to go bush walking nearby or bike riding, we have bikes you can borrow.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking after a 12 year old girl, help ensuring she is having breakfast and drive her to school. Pick her up from school and take both of you out for ice-cream and some shopping for the family. Play the Wii with her and help her with her homework.

    Help feed the rabbits and cat, unpack and pack the dishwasher. change sheets and vaccum, while the mother is at work but not every day off course. Garden if the person is interested but if not, that is totally fine.

    Un-packing the dishwasher and some cooking if you can cook, would be great. We are interested in eating healthy food.

    Some minor assistance in the house and changing sheets for another host room, that we have if I am unable to do it, if l am at work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    They will have their own bedroom with a new Queen size bed and a built in Wardrobe and draws for their clothes. They will be responsible for my second car because they will be driving my daughter to and from school and girl guides activities.
    My townhouse is 2 years old and they will share a bathroom with a spa bath in it with my daughter and another adult. My house is very modern and comfortable. They will have access to the WiFi and Netflix.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    They should be interested in children and willing to play with her maybe board games or the Wii or go bike riding with her.
    They will have the middle of the day off and they can go and see the bushland and rainforest in the dandenongs or do some of the local hikes, they can borrow a bike and go bike riding on the local bike paths. They can catch the train into the city to do the sights. This city has so many events and festivals on in the evenings, and their is charity work if the person is interested in helping others. Or they could voulteer their time with my daughters school to be involved with sports days or fund raising events, but that is their choose.
    They can drive to the beach because they will have the car but they need to be back in time for school pick up at 3.30.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 512456972966