Help for a young-at-heart couple in rural Landes, in Nouvelle Aquitaine, France

Country

France

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/05/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Helen and Larry, an early-retired, young-at-heart couple living in a rural area on the Landes/Gers border.
    We lead a fairly quiet and simple life, interrupted occasionally by busy family visits from the UK or Ireland.
    We have three grown up children and 3 grandchildren who live in the UK.
    We enjoy the tranquility that the nature and countryside offer and like walking especially on the West coast (1.5hrs) or in the Pyrenees.(2hrs)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We know our neighbours from our involvement in preparing for the village Fete which is the first weekend in September. There is a lot of activity in the weeks beforehand at our house, with plenty of opportunity to engage with local people and help out.
    If there is any special interest from a workawayer we will try to accomodate this and make local enquiries for them.

    Ask for more details if interested.

  • Help

    Help

    We usually have a loose programme of work throughout the year that we can both cope with, however sometimes we need some extra help. There is nothing exceptionally difficult, gardening is just playing catch-up, no nasty wilderness, some weeds and mowing.
    Maybe a bit of power- washing walls and terrace, a bit of fence painting here and there.
    Help with a DIY project that may be on the go.
    If you are interested in learning some new DIY skills there's plenty of opportunity but no pressure.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a double room in the family house. The bathroom is shared
    The house is a 4 bedroomed rural detached, circa 1940 on 2 hectares(5 acres) and we have a 10x4.5m in ground pool.
    It is 7km from the nearest town and generally very peaceful.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is very peaceful and we do not live life in the fast lane.
    That said we are generally sociable and enjoy food, drink and a good chat at times.
    We also understand that people need their own time and space and it may particulary suit an artist, writer, or photographer who needs a bit of solitude, and doesn't want to be overwhelmed.
    Although the nearest public transport is 7km away we are happy to provide lifts locally and you would be welcome to join us on a day out to the coast or mountains.
    We are both very relaxed and unregimented people and would welcome a similar individual.
    If your are interested in exercise there are plenty of local tracks for walking and we have bicycles available.
    We have plenty of land so if you have a project you want to pursue, outdoor sculpture, growing something, you can have you own little plot.
    We have a fixed rate call tariff for Europe so will be happy to call any landline to discuss details email via Workaway, call or text us.
    We are happy to discuss further, please contact us even if you are slightly curious.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours/day, 5 days a week.



Host ref number: 492284351268