Come and enjoy the blueberry farm in Bihor, Romania




Favourited 388 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    2006 I moved from Germany to Romania, because of the great nature of Romania. In 2013 I planted blueberries and currants. Since then I enjoy to be a farmer. Besides I'm an engineer and work for production machines. Because of this I don't have time to take care about the plants all the time. Depends of the season on the farm work 2 - 6 friends from the village. Some of them also speak German, Spanish or English besides of Romanian and Hungarian. I invite you to help me and my farm mates!
    We are looking forward to get to know you!
    If you have any question, just contact me. For the case, that you are interested in volunteering on our farm, it would be nice, if you write me a message a little bit in advance. As soon as we know that you will come, I will also explain you detailed everything about transport to our place. The closest big city is Oradea. Close to my village are two little cities, called Stei and Beius. From Oradea, Stei or Beius I will arrange a pick up for you to my house.

    2006 war ich zum ersten Mal in Rumänien und habe mich sofort in die Landschaft verliebt. Seit 2013 pflanze ich Blaubeeren, Johannisbeeren und etliche Gemüsesorten an. Die landwirtschaftliche Arbeit an der frischen Luft erfüllt mich sehr neben meiner Tätigkeit als Energieanlagenelektroniker in den unterschiedlichsten Regionen der Welt.
    Auf der Blaubeerplantage arbeiten je nach Saison 2 - 6 Freunde aus unserem Dorf, mit denen du auch zusammen arbeiten wirst. Alle sprechen Rumänisch und Ungarisch, manche sprechen auch Spanisch, Englisch oder Deutsch. Um so früher du mir schreibst, um so besser für mich und unsere Planung. Sobald wir verabredet haben wann du kommst, kann ich dir auch detaillierte Informationen zu unserem Treffpunkt geben. Die nächste große Stadt ist Oradea, wo man mit dem Zug oder Bus sehr gut hin reisen kann. Stei und Beius sind zwei kleine Städte nah an meinem Dorf Tarcaia. Stei kann man mit dem Bus von Cluj erreichen und Beius mit dem Bus oder Zug von Oradea. Von Oradea, Stei oder Beius werde ich oder ein guter Freund von mir dich dann abholen.
    Wir freuen uns dich kennen zu lernen!
    Falls du Fragen hast, schreibe mir gerne eine Mail.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Romania is a beautiful country with a lot of nature and friendly people. In our village you can get a close view in the way of life here. Some neighbours speak foreign languages, like hungarian, englisch, german, spanish or italian, because they have been abroad to work. Ssome neighbours have never left their village for their whole life and still live a very traditonal lifestyle. Many neighbours have animals and produce their own food on their farms, so you can have fresh milk from the cow, if you want ;)

    Most of the time nature is our provider. That's the way how we should treat it and take care about it.

  • Help


    Here are some tasks of our seasonal work:

    April - June

    - to check the waterpipelines, because winter is over and probably we need to repair some pipelines
    - all the pumps need to be connected to the waterpipelines again
    - around the plant is a plastic film and we need to check it and probably to repair it
    - to build up new lines of plants and to fill the lines with special substrate
    - to fertilize the plants
    - unweeding
    - Maybe we will build a new rooftop.

    July - August

    - to pick up blueberries and organising and caring for the blueberries to make them ready for selling
    - starting of wine production
    - producing of marmalade

    September - March

    - unweeding
    - cutting the plants to prepare them for the winter
    - to build up new lines of plants and to fill the lines with special substrate and sawdust
    - If it's warm, the season starts in the beginning of February.

    Just let me know what you can do. If something is too heavy for you, for example carrying big pieces of wood or something like this, we will find something to do for you, what's easier.

    I would be very glad, if you could create a website for me and two posters of advertising.

    Attention for very young people: I would like to be your friend, not your Daddy!
    I made the experience, that very young people, who have just moved from home, had a hard time. If the weather is not good outside and we can not work on the field, we look for work inside the house or we relax at home. I made the experience, that some very young people were bored about this situation and they didn't know what to do with themselves. My friends and I can give you ideas what to do, sometimes it’s nice to hang out together and it’s also important to talk about personal issues, if you would like to do this, but I can not care for you like your parents. For my place it’s important, that you are a little independently. People, who are independently and reliable, made very nice experiences here, because they checked out nature with the bikes, went to memorials by car, visited friends in the village and the neighbor villages, went swimming in the river, spent time in the fitness room of my house, made barbecue outside, cooked in the house or followed their own interests, like playing guitar, reading, sports, talking to their friends and family by Skype, whatever.
    If the weather is not good, everyone tries to make the best of the situation.
    If you think you can handle this, feel free to come and enjoy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Romanian: Intermediate
    Hungarian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Our cozy house has 4 rooms with 8 beds, furniture and a desk. In the living room is a television to share. On top we have 2 bathrooms and a central kitchen (together with the living room) with good equipment to cook. We enjoy to eat seasonal fruits and vegetables from our own garden, what we also offer you. You receive three meals a day or at least the ingredients for it.
    In your leisure you could use the little fitness room of our house or play Sport-GameCube.
    Our heating system is working with a chimney from the living room. It means, we put pieces of wood in the chimney in the living room and the water becomes hot, so that you can have a warm shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At 3 km from us is the Beius (city), with supermarkets, mini markets, bars, clubs... places to have fun. In the other directions you can go hiking in the mountains or go by bike. Sometimes in summer you can go swimming in a little river with the children from the neighbourhood.
    At the day you will always find a person, who gives you a ride or go by bike. Sometimes I could lend you two bikes.
    Beius is a little city and has only very few tourist attractions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (max 25/hours/week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)

Host ref number: 491625226991