Stay with a retired teacher and enjoy a cultural exchange in Tillson, NY, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Retired teacher that keeps busy fixing and painting my recently purchased house here in New York. Just moved from California. Love working with people and accommodating when possible. House is on 1/3 acre in a beautiful location with a gazebo on the property. Just behind the house is a 21 mile Rail Trail that accommodates hikers and bicycles. Very scenic spanning historic bridges, waterways, and abandoned mines.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Helping me as we do projects around home. Retired teacher and a great hostess. Love good conversation if invited. I can tutor if there is an interest in various subjects. There are many culturally rich events nearby because of the colleges nearby. Many local classes from wild mushroom/food foraging to Yoga, meditation and historic tours of the local areas. Rich in landmark historic Reformed churches, cemeteries, as will as the early settlers from Holland, Native Americans , and New York’s early involvement in slavery.

  • Help

    Help

    Discovering together how to do some of these “handily man” endeavors. (We can learn together, or if you don’t know see if it can be done with my help). Painting, power wash house, lawn and various remodeling in home. Lite building would be helpful. Finish power washing and painting the Gazebo. Also see if it’s posible to remove 3-4 old tree stumps.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room with desk, bookcase and bed. Flexible in regards to food. I like preparing food, we could shop for what you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Not far from 2 small quaint cities. Libraries, movie theatres, and beautiful country with places to swim. 6 miles from bus line that goes to New York City (about 1 1/2 hrs. ). I stay busy working around the house. Am quite flexible as I do not work.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 489943924349