Language exchange and help renovating and maintaining our chaotic family house in Kent, England

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    We are a family of four, Christopher (68), Sara (55), and our twin children who are at university and no longer living with us. We would love to host you if you are friendly and hard-working; we are interested in meeting people from other cultures who can teach us about their countries!
    We live in the heart of the medieval town of Sandwich in south east Kent, about an hour away from London on the train and within 15 minutes of the beach.
    We are very busy, and so are looking for dynamic and friendly guests who could help us renovate the house. Tasks would include repainting walls and floors, occasional cooking, clearing the garden, tidying and organising the attic, as well as general maintenance and other random stuff such as help with technology.
    Our house is slightly chaotic and messy but we will offer you meals (for long stays maybe you could cook from time to time) and lots of time off to borrow one of our bikes and explore the area and visit interesting nearby towns such as Canterbury and Margate. Weekends are of course free for you to do your own thing. We would expect around 4/5 hours of work most week days but we are flexible and very laid back so won't force you to wake up early! While we are very sociable, we also like our own private time in the evenings every now and then, so it would be good if you are happy with your own company sometimes. You have your own room and share the family bath room.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As an English teacher for foreign students, Christopher can also help you improve on your English. Sara is an artist and can also share her creative experience and ideas with people who have an interest in art. You will have access to a very interesting area of the UK with lots of history to discover if that interests you. We enjoy books and music so there is plenty to do/read/listen to if you ever get bored!

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks would include:
    redecorating ( scraping wallpaper etc)
    repainting walls and floors
    clearing and organising the garden
    fixing things (carpentry or plumbing skills could be very useful if you have them!)
    tidying and organising the attic
    (maybe) help with technology
    possible help needed for art projects!

    Tasks will probably done independently by the workers for the most part as we are working, but we will show you how to do things if you don't know how! And we may join in when we have time. No specific experience is necessary but general house renovation skills would be great if you have them

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have space for one or two helpers. Or three if there was a couple who could share a bed. The helpers have their own rooms with use of the bathroom shared with the family.
    We will cook shared meals but the helpers are free to cook their own food if they wish.
    We are not vegetarian, but our children are, and so can easily cater to veggies.
    No smoking in the house please!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live right in the centre of a town called Sandwich, where everything is within walking distance. Sandwich has plenty of sights to see, including a cinema, lots of pubs and restaurants, shops, and a bus and train station with easy access to surrounding towns as well as London. Helpers can use our bikes during their time off to cycle to the beach or around the countryside. There is the opportunity to play sports nearby, as the town has a large park and tennis courts.
    You could even go to France for the weekend as we are a half an hour drive away from the port of Dover!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 484732395952