Welcoming working family with 2 young kids need help with 'managing a household' in the Hague, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 144 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/03/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi workawayers, we are a Dutch family of 4, with 2 young kids. Our daughter goes to elementaire school and afterschool care and is 5, our son is 3 and goes to daycare on Mondays - Tuesdays - Wednesdaymornings - Thursdays. Mom works one week 5 days a week and the other 4 days a week. Father is self-employed and works irregular hours, sometimes evenings or early mornings. We are a flexible, open and hardworking family. But when we are not working, we concentrate on spending qualitytime with each other. We stay in for cuddles, tea and popcorn or go to the beach, forest or what ever event is up! We love sports, father is a cyclist, mother plays tennis. Our 5 year old has swimming lessons and ballet practice on Saturdays.

    We live in a 3 story house in Den Haag. We enjoy being close enough to the city center, but treasure our semi- rural environment. Our neighbours have sheep on the 'dijk' that seperates is from the beautiful 'groene hart'.

    Den Haag (the Hague) is a really international focussed city, with lots of internationals/expats. It has a beach (Scheveningen), culture (Lots of musea, free festivals) and great connections to Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Delft, Utrecht and the rest of the Netherlands.

    We speak Dutch, English and German. We understand basic Spanish and basic French.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Dutch culture, nature and family life, social activities, sports

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We could need some help making the day-2-day operation of our familylife less stressful. Our ideal workawayer would:
    - help with preparing breakfast and school meal
    - help getting the kids to school (3,5 km) / daycare (2 km) by car
    - run groceries
    - do household chores
    - prepare simple dinner
    - pick kids up from daycare and/ or play dates
    - etc

    If we think of projects you could help us with:
    - painting the outside of the 3 story house together with father
    - box up - and bring to charity all the stuff we accumulated since we became a family ( and never got around to let go off!)
    - gardening, a small garden, but needs TLC
    - help out with administrative, marketing (website and social) and general tasks for the business that the father runs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have the only room (5 x 4 meters)
    on the second floor. It has a double bed, WiFi and entrance to a terrace overlooking the 'Groene hart' - a protected rural area with windmills. We would share our bathroom and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In and around The Hague: - just google 'den haag marketing' you'll find loads of things.

    Transport: we'll have a bike available, you can walk to tram and bus that takes you to trains and airports (Rotterdam-The Hague Airport and Schiphol)

    Are you a non-smoking social and active person willing to live with us for 4 a minimum of 4 weeks, you'd fit perfectly in our family. We'd love to learn about you as a person, your life, culture and language!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 482276626371