Be part of our family and help us care for retired horses in scenic north Carmarthenshire, South West Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 270 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    117

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We used to run a riding centre - this is now CLOSED - that's where the horses come in, some are now retired but 3 are still ridden, so I need help exercising those depending on the weather and the time of year, but mainly looking after them all. We are looking for help for next year for a minimum of 4 weeks, preferably longer ( see calendar) who must be a good rider and not over 10.5 stone (65 kg) as a small pony to ride, preferably having owned their own horse/s at some point so they are used to the handling and caring aspect of all types.

    If corona virus is still around we will all just have to see what government rules apply.

    We are a small family and also run a B&B (Workawayers will NOT be asked to help with this) and smallholding (8 horses, 21 sheep (+lambs after April) 10 chickens and a cat) in South West Wales at the start of the Cambrian mountains surrounded by our own 32 acres of land. My husband Oz does most of the cooking here for you and I do all the work with the horses.

    Our family loves to travel and to host travelers. We are interested in meeting others and learning from them, while sharing our experiences and skills.

    As I have said the horses were used for our riding centre which we ran for 30 yrs, so really nice types to look after and some are still here and need looking after and some need riding.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would be living and riding in stunning scenery as we live in such a beautiful rural area of Wales. Our smallholding is surround by it's own land with views over the valley.

    You will be here as part of the family and we'll take you out to show you the area when we have a spare moment !

    We have some wonderful places for walking straight from our yard in your free time but also we can take you around walks to various castles and coastal paths - as we are only 45 mins. from the coast - and we have 3 lovely little market towns all 20-30 mins. away so if we go shopping in any of them we'll take you so you can take a look around.

    We also have a boat which in the season, when it is in Aberaeron harbour, we can take you out sea- fishing - mackerel is a very common fish to catch and great fun on a calm day.
    PLEASE NOTE - bring British currency with you if coming from abroad, as when we go out to eat/drink you can then buy what you like, all food is supplied at the farm but not on excursions.

    Please note no pork or pork products are eaten here.

    Oz plays guitar so you will hear him playing and singing away most days and we both love food of all nationalities so if you can play an instrument we'd love to hear you play and also show us other culinary delights from your country/area as we will do for you during your stay if you were interested, curries are Oz's specialities.

    The horses however come first so the main attraction here is working with our horses and ponies and I have been teaching riding for over 30yrs so can teach you a lot about the horses care that is needed here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with the 8 horses we have, a person who is a competent rider with good horse care knowledge and light enough to ride small ponies. Must be used to hacking out in the countryside and be able to mount and dismount athletically as there are a lot of gates to open and shut on our hacks.

    Early and late in the year the riding ability doesn't really matter as the weather may be too bad to ride at those times so we need some-one who loves just being around horses to look after them and has previous horse care knowledge, but I will show you all the things that need doing before you are left on your own with them.

    We're looking for a person who is enthusiastic, chatty, sociable and cheerful to be with, can take constructive criticism and doesn't mind some days being long, use their own initiative and always be ready to help with any of the jobs that need doing. They must be happy being on their own as Oz and I are used to being in a remote area and working alone, we are very friendly and welcoming and love company but like our own space too. The help here is anything to do with the horses, grooming, filling hay nets and water buckets, helping give out feeds, mucking out, cleaning tack - exercising sometimes, opening and shutting gates when we hack out. You will be doing tasks with me and once you know the ropes then if I am busy you will be on your own with the horses a lot of the time.

    Oz usually does the evening meals, or I do, if we go out then you just cook yourself.
    We are in a remote area, the village is a 2.5 mile walk away and local towns 20 -30 mins.drive away so we need someone who is quite happy with just enjoying the peace and quiet, stunning views, doesn't get lonely and likes living as part of the family.

    Sometimes, if we go away then we'd like the chickens and cat fed and the horses kept an eye on in the fields while we do so, this would be a good time to go for long walks and enjoy the area, so again we'd like the sort of person who would be willing to be on their own and enjoy doing this.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a farmhouse cottage and you will have your own bedroom with (sometimes) shared bathroom if family and friends are staying. All food is provided and you help yourself to anything for breakfast and lunch and we cook the evening meal for everybody.

    We prefer to have non-smokers and you cannot bring your dog, I say this as I've been asked before about bringing pets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a remote area with the nearest village, Pumsaint, 2.5 miles (walking) and our local town, Lampeter, 20 mins (driving) and there is no public transport, but we will make sure when you have time off that we take you around the area if possible, but it all depends on what work we are doing with the horses as that takes priority and takes up most of our time, but relaxing here at the farm is good, the perfect place to sit and read a book and admire the view from the garden. We also have a boat which Oz takes out in Cardigan Bay to do some sea fishing (April-October), so if the weather is good and the sea calm we can take you out on that to do some fishing and maybe fish for dinner ! and if lucky the dolphins will be around as there is a large group residing in Cardigan Bay who some-times show themselves. So we need the right sort of person who'd like this environment and won't let us down once the dates are set, this is really important as we need consistency with the horses, and as we only take one person at a time it's very hard to get Workawayers last minute, hope you understand.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 479139867347