Hard working self starter for some DIY projects, water collection system for yard and home cooking in Florida, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have been working as a chef on yachts for 15years and travelled the world on boats!
    When I am home I love to garden and make succulent crafts which I am just starting to sell. The home and yard are very peaceful and lush with 2 cats and 1 friendly dog!

    I have recently purchased my house and bungalow behind it.
    My project is about restoring a 100 +year old house and also moving towards being more energy efficient
    I am really into reinvent/ reuse / recycle / repurpose !!!
    I like to take found objects and repurpose them.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I was born in France and speak fluent French, so I can help teach anyone interested in learning French. As a child we moved all around the world, including Morocco, Senegal, and Italy. Later,In my 20s, I travelled all around the world traveling and living in Thailand, China, Indonesia, and Europe ending up in South Florida!
    I am a chef aboard yachts, so I am more than happy to share my passion! I am happy to chat and exchange ideas and travel stories! My jobs has taken me to many fascinating places including the Bahamas, Virgin Islands, and next the Galapagos. I would love to help others in their traveling adventures, as I also was a workaday in Idaho for several months!
    I also live on a huge property with a tremendous amount of local tropical vegetation, including many palms. I spend my free time propagating succulents, and creating repurposed art to plant them in. Sometimes on weekends I like to have a plant sale in my front yard. If you are interested in gardening, or repurposed art projects I’d be glad to teach what Works for me!

    I am passionate about cooking and happy to share!



    The beach is 3 miles away. Downtown is a 20 minute walk through beautiful canals with sailboats and bridges! It is a very historic city with tons of activities!

  • Help

    Help

    There are several ongoing projects :
    Refinishing original 1920’s Miami Dade pine wood floors in main house.
    Painting one of the interior bedrooms
    General yard maintenance- lots of palm fronds to pick up
    Carpentry skills for building an outdoor kitchen
    Installing watering system and water collection for yard
    Creating a compost area
    Staining exterior wood on small overhang
    Preparing vegetarian or vegan meals

    Looking for experienced hard workers

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English & French fluent. Spanish ok

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a loft in the main house furnished as a bedroom. There is an old ship’s ladder leading to the loft. There are 2 bathrooms so you will have a separate bathroom. Kitchen is shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Fort Lauderdale is a great historic beach town, rich in history and beaches!!! There are many parks offering kayaking and trails. Public transportation is Uber and bus.
    You can walk or ride a bike from my house!

    Our home is walking distance to a small non traditional local restaurant and bar that works on the honor system. It is a great place to meet new people, as people gather around the outdoor picnic tables and sit together.
    Also our home and the canals and surrounding homes are gorgeous with huge tropical plants and the nearby pedestrian Riverwalk that goes along the river through downtown!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 475914492637