Help with my website and photography/video projects and enjoy relaxing island life in Koh Yao, Phang Nga, Thailand



Favourited 70 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    My name is Kerry and I am a 32 year old Scottish woman who has been living on the beautiful island of Koh Yao Noi, Thailand, for over 2 years now. I moved here to work on a yoga retreat and follow my yoga dreams, and in the midst of lockdown, I realised I had got lost in someone else's! With the time to reflect on what I want to do with my life, I have decided to set up a website to host all my offerings: Yoga (private and group classes), Nutrition (consultations and blogs), Wellness Marketing (marketing & business consultation services specific to the wellness / retreat industry).
    I have been both a workaway volunteer and a host now for 2 years, managing volunteers for the company I work for. I am excited to welcome a volunteer to share a rewarding friendship and experience!
    I have 10 years marketing experience in both the corporate and wellness world so although I know what needs to be done and how to do it - I would really benefit from the support of a likeminded individual(s) to bounce ideas off of and provide me with motivation and enthusiasm to move things forward!
    I am keen on finding the right person/people - you will be living with me so it is important we click! The skills I would most benefit from are listed below - I don't expect one person to have all of these skills! Reach out and let me know where you think you could add value.

    * Photographer/Videographer
    * Website development/design (on user friendly platform such as wix, Wordpress etc)
    * Copywriter

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to live on a beautifully peaceful island, off the beaten tourist trail yet just 30 minutes boat ride from Phuket or Krabi. Escape to a paradise island and get to know the local culture. Like many island in the south of Thailand, this island has a predominantly Muslim, fishing community, offering a different perspective from the Thai Buddhist culture on the mainland. The nature here is truly stunning and you almost always have the beach to yourself! There are many activities to take part in such as muay Thai, cooking classes, kayaking, paddleboarding, diving trips, cycling tours etc.
    Volunteers will have their own bedroom in a stunning 2 story house, located just 1 minutes' walk from a beautiful beach and coffee shop. There are several nice restaurants/ bars within 15 minutes walk and the market is just 15 minutes drive on the scooter.

    As part of the project I will arrange various interviews/workshops/visits with local people on the island which you can join depending on the timing e.g. a tour of a local resort and their sustainability processes, local thai cooking class, local organic farmers etc.

    You will receive free accommodation, breakfast. I also love to cook so will happily share some other meals with you, and of course anything I cook for website content too! I ask for 15-20 hours work per week however I am flexible and we can arrange suitable times for everyone to make sure you have plenty of downtime to explore the island and work on your own projects.

  • Help


    I am a marketing professional working in the yoga industry and want to use this time to set up my own website, blog and marketing consultancy service. I know what needs to be done but could use some support for motivation and certain tasks!
    I have a few potential areas a volunteer (or 2!) could support with and am open to discussion on how we find the best fit. Areas I most need support with are below and listed in order of priority:
    - Web Design (using basic CMS such as WordPress, Wix or SImplero). I would like to launch a website to host my bogs, sell online yoga classes and share recipes/videos. I am adept at using many CMS - I am keen to use one of these rather than have a fully coded website to ensure I can easily maintain the website myself in future.
    - Photography/Videography - I could use support with some photo/video-shoots for content for the website and social media channels. Food photography experience is a bonus.
    - Copy Writing (I could use some support coming up with my bio (always hardest to sell yourself!) vision/mission statement as well as introductory text on website, plus proof reading/editing on my blogs (of which there are many!)
    - Social Media

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Thai: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own private room with double bed and fan in a beautifully finished wooden, 2 story house. Shared use of a fully fitted kitchen and luxurious bathroom with shower. You will share the house with your host, Kerry, whose living quarters are on the upper level. Your bedroom has full length glass doors which open out on to a large balcony and garden, and you can hear the sound of the waves in the distance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Connect with nature on this peaceful island, there are many interesting walks (I'll happily show you around!) and places to cycle. You can take a kayak and explore the many beautiful caves and hidden beaches along the coast of this small island. There are many activities to take part in such as paddle boarding, sailing trips, muay Thai, yoga, cooking classes and more. There are plenty of nice cafes/restaurants with goof wifi for any digital nomads.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    AS far as the island can provide, we have a great wifi connection here. It is a small island so we can occasionally experience power cuts which means the wifi is cut off, but other than that connection is as good as you can get in Thailand. There are a variety of coffee shops/restaurants with good connection too, all with AMAZING VIEWS so you can sip a latte, eat some delicious healthy food (or cake!) while you work away :) The island is very peaceful so there are no crazy parties here and no noisy tourists disrupting the sabai sabai lifestyle

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a large concrete space under the house for parking which can fit several vehicles. There are car ferries which run from Krabi

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 468596533928