Help me to clear up some woodland around my home in the Willamette Valley Oregon, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am looking for assistance on sprucing up my 14 acres of wooded land in Oregon's Willamette Valley. I have a large garden plot that needs tending and various building projects and general maintenance. This is a large home with private rooms and a shared kitchen. Located 1.5 hours away from Portland and 45 minutes to the coast, this is an ideal spot for working the land for a few hours and then heading off to explore the local sights.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This location provides a country feel with quick access to city and coastal adventures. There are many farms and local markets nearby, as well as fun cafes, and breweries. More broadly, if you like outdoor activities (hiking, camping, fishing, etc), Oregon is one of the best states in the US to come visit. I spend most of my free time in the outdoors, have lived here for over twenty years and am happy to share my knowledge with you. There are many great places to explore. I am happy to assist with English proficiency and to share whatever I can about this land and culture.

  • Help

    Help

    I live on 14 wooded acres. There is some basic help and maintenance that I have fallen behind on. This includes fruit tree trimming, black berrry clearing (they grow everywhere and need to be hacked back), firewood splitting and stacking and the like. Some knowledge of proper fruit tree pruning is preferred for the tree trimming. There is also a large garden area that can be cleared and prepped for the spring. A willingness to help with your hands and some skill in using hand tools (clippers, shovels rakes) is all that is needed.

    In the house, there is some deeper cleaning (kitchen and utility room cupboards, windows for example) that can be done. Help around the house is always nice--cooking, tidying up, etc.-- and I am eager to practice my French and Spanish language skills (which have become weak with dis-use) with travelers.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two private bedrooms available, with twin beds and closet space. Private bathroom and shower, with a shared living room, kitchen and dining room. Lots of land to explore and wander on, as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Like I said, if you like the outdoors there is no shortage of things to enjoy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have high speed internet if all you need is an internet connection.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 463891943328