Help out family with small home improvement projects in the Toronto area, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    101

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi There,

    My name is Esther and I'm a single mom of 3 young adult kids. Currently, my eldest lives with me.

    We live in Brampton, Ontario, which is part of the Greater Toronto Area and the 9th largest city in Canada, with a population of 600,000. We are located on major busways and parkland, and transportation into Toronto is very easy by public transportation. We encourage you to use your free time to explore the city and surrounding areas.

    I am heavily involved with my community and involved with the Kiwanis Club of Brampton, a service organization whose focus is on improving the lives of children.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an English speaking family so if you would like to be more fluent in English we can converse. We would treat you like a member of our family.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a lot of unfinished small home improvement projects. None of these projects take a lot of time, but there are a lot of them. Mostly I am in need of someone who is very handy for home repairs, and light housekeeping, your day in exchange for a room and breakfast. We don't eat most dinners together because of our schedule, so you can expect to provide for yourself. however, if we are sitting down to a family meal, you are welcome to join us.

    I'm really looking for someone who already has experience/skills in these tasks:

    1) minor carpentry/repair work DYI projects
    2) cleaning the house (including sweeping and vacuuming daily)
    3) minor electrical work.

    We are a hardworking family, so I expect the same level of work from Workawayers. I am a clear communicator as to how I expect things done. If you don't understand, please ask! If the job isn't done correctly, I'll ask for you to do it again, so it is better that you ask questions if you have them.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have a private bedroom, but you would share the bathroom with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Brampton is one of the most culturally diverse cities in Canada. It is within the greater Toronto area (GTA) and is very close to Niagara Falls. There is so much to do in both Brampton and the GTA. My townhouse is located within a 2-minute walking distance of the bus stop, and within walking/biking distance of shopping, movie theatres, and parks. There is a bus that goes into downtown Toronto that is a 5-minute walk from our front door.

    We are a multiracial family. I am East Indian by heritage and my children are a mixed race of East Indian and Californian. My extended family lives in the area and we a very close. We are NOT vegetarians and really love our meat, and love to barbeque. So if you are offended by our largely meat-based diet, you may not do well with us, although we do try to remember to eat fruits and vegetables to round it out!

    We are a friendly, busy and outgoing family and hope that you fit right in with us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 15 hours per week

That's me. I'm the hostess. 😊
My daughter and me.
Me and my 2 boys during Christmas.
That's your room. It's quite and overlooks the backyard.
Common dining room.
Common kitchen.
Common living room.


Host ref number: 462773598673