In Normandy countryside help for general maintenance

Country

France

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi ! I'm Laurence, 49, living in Normandy countryside. 3 lovely grown up children. A busy farmer boyfriend. The first town is ten kilometers away from our place, so we use a car for everyday life but we've got bikes as well.
    In 20 years in the same house, I've collected lots and lots of things mainly from flea markets : furniture, toys, bikes, books ... I've also emptied my previous workshop so the place and some farm buildings are now full up !
    I need a hand sorting all that out as well as for general and outdoor maintenance.

    At the moment, I'm a volunteer in a primary school, organizing art and wool workshops once a week. I'm aiming for a better life and believe in sharing more with people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We've got a fantastic environment : great landscape, close to nature and wild life. It gives you the opportunity to reconnect with basic values like seasons, common and practical senses like lightening a fire, picking fruits, walking in muddy lanes but also intellectual enrichment with music, reading, artistic expression … We 've got piano and guitars ... You can also learn how to turn a fleece into a nice sheep's wool blanket. It's also possible to visit my boyfriend's farm and go and milk the cows. Or just rest and enjoy being there ...
    We live in a rural area only two hours away from Paris by train.
    We can visit/invite friends with alternative projects.
    We can also help with learning French !

  • Help

    Help

    What I need a hand with :
    - sorting out and carrying things (no piano to move - you need to be reasonably fit !)
    - take them to charity shops, recycling place or/and flea markets
    - run after 2 ponies every so often or fix fences
    - make a proper fence for lovely goat to save trees, flowers and salads
    - built some kind of little windows in farm buildings to stop birds dropping on my stuff
    - change rotten wooden floor in the house corridor ( 2 square meters ?)
    - connect electricity in new room (plugs already fitted) and check building connexion
    - outdoors paint : doors/window frames
    - gardening

    We will sometimes work together and sometimes you will do things alone.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Français et anglais courants. Notions d'espagnol et d'allemand (enfants)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We've got a large stone partly renovated house quite full of things which needs a bit of DiY. My son's bedroom is available as he's studying in Paris at the moment. So : single furnished bedroom in our house. We could also use a caravan or a tent when the weather's nice.

    Of course, food will be provided. Meals will mainly be cooked and shared at home. I prefer dealing with the cooking because my kitchen is small and not convenient ( maybe I'm a bit fussy as well !) but we can shop, decide together or set up an outdoor kitchen ! And have barbecues ( veggie or not !) ...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can't have smokers to stay because I'm highly allergic to tobacco as well as sprays (perfume, deodorants ...). I'm also allergic to fish.
    We eat simple and quality food. Our girls are vegetarian. Hubert eats a lot of meat but he has lunches and dinners at the farm most of the time. I'm a flexitarian.
    The kids and I try and grow our own vegetables but aren't very skilled and most of all, haven't got enough time with school and all the stuff ! I've planted apple, pear, cherry trees. They're still young but we've got lots of blackcurrants and raspberries.
    We've got few animals : 2 ponies, 1 goat and some half wild cats around the house.

    During school time, life is organised according to high school and bus hours.

    Living AND working in the same place has always been my idea of a life that makes senses ... but easier said than done !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Petit déjeuner tranquille ...
Recycling wooden planks
Can be cold in winter
Hubert au travail
Lavage de laine à la main
Down the lane
Gros nettoyage d'été
Jardinage au printemps

Host ref number: 462399862961