Simple and humble life in Zimbabwe



Favourited 29 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 22 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  • Description


    We are family of two ,mother and daughter .We live in simplicity and of very humble means in the capital of Zimbabwe .
    I the daughter am aged 27 .I have traveled to over 10 countries and used to website workaway to volunteer allover the world and I continue to use it whenever I travel .So ,I know exactly what volunteering is about and will try our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible .

    We live in a peaceful suburb in Harare with friendly neighbors .We keep chickens and ducks in our backyard .We are looking for helpers to join us on two projects that we will be doing for our community .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how locals live through living with us ,you will also get the opportunity to explore tourist spots,local clubs and restaurants.We can drive you around the city when we are free.
    There is an opportunity make many new friends and meet other travelers who we host at the home through other platforms .

    We offer accommodation and 2 meals a day breakfast and dinner in exchange of 3-5 hours of work per day .You will have 3 days off each week .Workawayers will have access to the kitchen and can prepare their own meals when they feel like .We are also happy to try out different cuisines that workawayers prepare .We believe in community spirit Ubuntu and hope our workawayers will feel part of the family and community.

  • Help


    We have three main projects .

    Number 1 :
    We are looking for help us build an earth ship with recycled material .The house we will build will be used to support widows and orphans in our community .

    Number 2 :
    We also need help with developing a garden with a rain forest feel.Any expertise is welcome in gardening ,landscaping ,electricians,carpenters,plumbers,building plant nurseries and DIYs is greatly appreciated.

    Number 3 :
    Finally we have a small tour company that we hope to expand and we would like help with tourists and hands on ideas on how to expand and market our operations .

    If you speak French or Italian some language classes once a day would be greatly appreciated .Already have the basics A1 level and would like to advance to be a more independent speaker .

    Other smaller tasks may include feeding the chickens ,cleaning the chicken run and help around the house .You must be a self starter ,out of the box thinker ,independent and able to work with minimal supervision .

    Workawayers are welcome to stay as long as they like .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English , Shona and a little bit of french

  • Accommodation


    You will get your own room inside our family home with a shared bathroom and toilet .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live near the public transport bus stop but we can also drive you around the city .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Recycled cooking pots
chicken project

Host ref number: 456713923511