Support our young family around the house and with some gardening in Galway, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3, mama and 2 little boys, ages 7 and 4. My sons are at school/ preschool for a couple of hours each morning, so help would be mostly be welcome in the afternoons/ some weekends. We live in a spacious (but cold) house in a beautiful rural area very close to the sea. There are lovely walks along the coast from our house. We are located about 15km from Galway city. Trains and buses leave from oranmore, 5km away, and there is access to a bike (or a lift where possible).
    I am not working away from the home, but have some projects that i would like to give more time and energy to. Our daily routine consists of all the normal domestic chores around meals, cleaning and also lots of adventure, play and fun. We are early to bed and early to rise! Food is very important in our family, as we have allergies and food sensitivities to manage, so most meals are cooked from scratch and are gluten, dairy and nut-free. Our staple foods are good quality meat, lots of veg, sweet potatoes, rice, porridge, and fruit! We like to bake too!
    We are passionate about sustainability, self development, compassionate communication, nature and being good global citizens! We love to meet new people and learn new things. If you have an instrument/passion for music/dance/singing, that would be wonderful!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I would be happy to share my knowledge of nutrition and natural health. I am a trained nutritional therapist with extensive knowledge of herbs, chinese medicine, ayurveda, and homeopathy and a passion for supporting women post-partum. I am also passionate about respectful communication with kids, and non-violent communication. After bedtime i often follow a youtube yoga class! As a family we love to go on woodland/ hillside adventures, practice gratitude and go swimming in the local pool etc.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    *Help to Create new(small) food garden following permaculture principles. Help and advice/experience appreciated.
    *Play with/take care of kids (outdoor/nature connection would be a bonus)
    If you are someone who loves playing with children, hanging out in a family environment, then we would love your help here. We particularly need someone who loves the company of children. They learn a lot from good quality interaction with others.
    *Healthy cooking (meat and veg). I love to cook and am happy to do the majority of it. If you would like to jump in here and spice things up for us, great! ;)
    *Cleaning/ Doing the housework - Once a week, we need help with a big house clean. Otherwise, please use your initiative if you see something that needs to be done, and don’t be afraid to ask! It’s great if people just dive into this and do as they would in their own home.

    Self-motivation and open honest communication would be greatly appreciated. Let's make sure we all enjoy our time together. :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Irish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large family home, shared kitchen, Cosy double room, with access to upstairs office space if needed for personal time and space. access to wifi (which we turn off at night), and of course a bike, bodhran and some djembe drums ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Galway city is a cultural hub, with lots going on in terms of music, art and theatre. It has a number of highly respected language schools, which host people from all over the world. There are many things to see and do, classes to attend, traditional music sessions, really whatever you are interested in exploring you will find it. Locally, there are gorgeous woodland walks and walks along the sea from our house. Nearby, there are yoga classes, woods, sea, and also buses to the burren, cliffs of moher, and the gorgeous coastal village of kinvara. The aran islands are also well worth a visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 453273538196