Help on our certified organic farm in Saskatchewan, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living in rural Saskatchewan. We live on the edge of the Boreal forest in an area known as the Parkland region. We are a year into our farming adventure here. We are certified organic. We raise beef cattle, which are grassfed and finished. We also raise meat goats.
    Right now we live in an old 1950's mobile home. We are building a house out of recycled grain bins and repurposed materials. We want to be mortgage free and reduce our carbon footprint.
    The majority of our property is in it's natural state. We have 54 species of birds living on our home place. The grass is tall. The plants are mixed. We try to live in harmony with nature as much as possible.
    We have two children, aged 6 and 4. In the summer they help on the farm, and in the fall they go to school. They love to ask questions.
    We would love to have you come and experience life with us!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn how to look after livestock, how a rural Canadian family lives. Canadian organic farming practices, learn about the local culture. Meet local people, learn English if you would like, or improve. See some of the local tourist attractions.

  • Help

    Help

    Build goat shelters, new fences. Help with house construction. Weeding the garden. Occasional childcare. Check cattle. Gather firewood for winter. Chop wood. General maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camper with running water. Food will be provided. All bedding will be provided. Just bring yourself and your things.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    No local public transit. We have a vehicle or two that would be able to be used. We take Sunday's off for family time and usually try to go to the lake or something off the farm. Of course you are welcome to join us!
    Must be respectful, willing to try new things, like to laugh and share your culture. Must like kids as they will ask you 100 questions or more. Must like to be outside as we spend 90% of our time outdoors.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day. 4 days a week

Host ref number: 452939829999