Join our young family striving to live life off our own land in Apoini, Crete, Greece

Country

Greece

updated  

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    WE are a family of 3, Myself , my partner and our Child 3yrs. We live in the centre of Crete 60k south of heraklion, In a village called Apoini. We are self sufficiency farmers, with a small hold of Olive Trees, Grape vines, and a Valley where we are creating our little paradise with an extensive range of fruit trees, herbs etc with natural farming/permaculture techniques. We are planning to build our house their with natural building techniques in the next few years. We try to life off our land as much as possible and in harmony with nature as a mind set.  

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Language exchange I am a teacher of English and educational facilitator for kids, Natural farming techniques and Cretan herb collecting and processing. We can teach you the traditional Cretan healthy diet and foraging for wild plants,herbs and roots.

  • Help

    Help

    Our tasks are very seasonal and varied but they include planting vegetables and trees, collecting seasonal Cretan herbs, Olives, Grapes etc. Processing our own products from fresh veg, fruit and making Jams, olives, grapes to make raki, grape syrup, raisins, herb cleaning and many many more depending on the season makes. Cooking lovely organic meals with our own products, playing with our Daughter. Also I am starting up a kids play group/ summer camps for like minded parents, who want something more then the outdated educational methods. This will incorporate Montessori style and forest schooling ideas, music , crafts etc etc etc so if there is anyone who wants to help or brings ideas and their expertise to this is welcome. Also we want to increase our musicness in our family for us and for our daughter to grow up with music. my partner plays a little guitar and I am starting to learn the Flute, but need lessons, so musicians are welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Greek

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is in a remote Village of Crete called Apoini on a big plain 20 mins from the South coast. It has has one double bed in a room, a sitting room and a kitchen. There is a terrace with a beautiful view that leads onto the outside toilet. It is very peaceful . We live in a neighboring house, but alot of time will be spent in our house for processing, cooking, eating, socializing and play time! 

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a daily bus to Hraklion and other near by villages. There are alot of walks around the area and ancient sites. Mountain climbing, gorge walking, Bird watching and cycling are the main activities in the area. but of course plenty of beautiful beaches around. We like our guests to be strong in body and in positive in mind both are needed for this, sometimes hard, life-style.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 449432523612