We would love to have help with the vegetable garden, orchard, caring for the animals near Collie, Western Australia.

Country

Australia

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Steve, my husband and myself, Trudy live on 509 acres, 200 natural bush with plenty of wildlife, 200 blue gum tree plantation and the remaining 109 acres consist of buildings, orchard, vegetable garden, yards and paddocks. We have grid connected solar power and are self sufficient in rain water. Currently we have pigs, sheep, chickens, cows and bees with the intent of expanding our livestock with goats and ducks, our aim is to become as self sufficient as possible while endeavouring to care for and improve the land.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Walking through our 200 acre bush block volunteers can experience Australian flora and fauna also an extensive range of bird life. We are happy to share our Australian way of life, catching yabbies from our dams, BBQ's, Australian meals and nights around an outdoor fire under the stars, seasons permitting.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a couple or group of friends 2-3 who would like to help with the vegetable garden, orchard, caring for the animals (our pigs love a good scratch) and what ever skills you can bring to help us on our journey to self sufficiency and land regeneration.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 3 bedrooms, 2 with queen beds and 1 with 2 single beds, the newly renovated bathroom is shared between the 3 bedrooms. A games room with pool table, fridge and TV with DVD player is available should you want some private time. You are also welcome to join us watching TV or political, environmental and lifestyle documentaries of which we have many. We like discussing how we as individuals can contribute in making this world a better place, sharing ideas and opinions. We are very relaxed with our meals eating in the dining room, outdoors or in front of TV. Breakfast and some lunches although provided are help yourselves and evening dinners will be prepared and eaten together. We would appreciate if you would clean up after yourselves and if required to please provide your own alcohol and internet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated 2.5 hours from Perth, 40 minutes from Collie our nearest main town and the Collie Visitor Information Centre is a good source for local attraction and can be accessed via internet. Ferguson Valley is a 1 hour drive and is a great place to explore local breweries and wineries. Bunbury our nearest city is 1.25 hours drive. Lake Towerinning is a 15 minute drive and although a skiing lake is also nice for a refreshing swim. Buses travel to Collie Monday to Friday and if needed we will pick you up from there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week although we are flexible and willing to do 7-8 hours per day for 3 days.














Host ref number: 448656178888