Join our dream of self-sufficiency in our family's smallholding near Hastings, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 95 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    We are a family of 5 who live on 4 acres of land just outside the seaside town of Hastings. We have recently moved from London with a dream of self sufficiency but very little knowledge! It is a steep learning curve but we are enjoying every minute of smallholding life. My husband works full time in London so it is usually just me dealing with the animals and weeding the vegetable beds while looking after our three children and my elderly father.

    I would like some help with the day to day running of things. Feeding, handling and mucking out the chickens and pigs, weeding, planting and maybe some bigger projects. I dug my veg beds last year and managed to let them get completely overrun with weeds so need a lot of help managing that problem! We also have some bigger projects for the year which you are welcome help with depending on your confidence and experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Bepart of the family, learn about growing food, animals. We reared pigs for meat last year which was a interesting experience which we want to do again. We grow our own fruit and vegetables and have many chickens for eggs and meat. Our plans (or dreams) for this year include building a habitable tree house, keeping bees, planting an orchard and getting some ducks, turkeys and geese.

  • Help


    I would like three to four hours help a day and the rest of the time will be yours. I think most of the volunteer help will be digging and gardening which could be messy and tiring so please be prepared for that! I'd also like help cleaning out the chickens houses and general care of the animals as well as help making jams and preserves from the food we grow.
    My husband Harry works full time but will be taking time off at points over the spring and summer for bigger projects which we would like help with. These include building a tree house, putting up stock fencing, installing water butts, turning a shed into a food prep area (so we can make our own sausages), planting trees and re roofing and waterproofing the outside toilet.

  • Accommodation


    I have had to change the accommodation from what was originally listed here. Now the summer accommodation will be a large bell tent. This will be equipped with beds, bedding, a camping stove and kettle and other things you will need. There is access to water and a outside composting toilet. You are also welcome to use the shower, kitchen and loo in the house during the day. We are planning on building a large habitable tree house so that might be ready for you to stay in by the summer but we don't know how long it will take!

    Because the accommodation is away from the house it would be more suitable for a couple or small family rather than a single person as you would be alone for a large part of the time.

    We will provide breakfast items, sandwiches for lunch, and a home cooked evening meal.
    You will also have the facilities to cook over a camp fire if you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very close to Hastings which is a beautiful coastal town. There is a bus stop outside the house and buses go into town about once a hour, taking about 15- 20 mins.
    There is a large supermarket about 10 minutes walk away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The bell tent. It is very big inside!
Hastings beach, a 10 minute drive away.
My family.
The vegetable beds with the bell tent in the background.
My vegetable bed. It looks good here but now needs lots of work due to my neglect!
Last years pigs with our dog Buster and one of the cats.
The view from the tent.
Some of our chickens.

Host ref number: 448199495447