Help out on a traditional farm in Southern Piedmont, with 15 hectares of pasture land, orchard and woods, Italy.

Country

Italy

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I a traditional farm in Southern Piedmont, with 15 hectares of pasture land, orchard and woods. The house is centuries old, made of stone, and only partially restaured. The farm is on a hillside at about 650 m, with a view of the Alps.
    My name is Roberta, and have been living here since 2002. I am a travel writer and professional guide. I am often away from home, but I manage to keep four donkeys on my premises, where I have stables and fenced fields.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Working with animals can be an opportunity for travellers interested in traditional farming. Using a sickle to make hay with no impact on the environment, can also be a lot of fun. The area where I live (Alta Langa) is famous for its excellent agricultural produce (wine, cheese, etc.).

  • Help

    Help

    I am equipped with animal traction gear (a plow and other tools), and need help to use them. Help is needed from november to march, when I am at home (donkeys go to the mountains in the summer). Help is neede for fencing, mending stone walls, clearing fields invaded by bushes, collecting wood, cleaning the stables, taking care of the animals.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very simple room with two beds and shared bathroom. I am currently fixing a small stone building for guests (will be ready by late spring 2019). All meals are organized and cooked by me. A kitchen is available when I am not at home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest train station is in Ceva (CN), about 10 km from the house. Alta Langa is an excellent place for cycling, hiking, wine tasting. Beaches can be reached by train in about 1 hour. In 1h30 by train, you can reach Turin (museums, theaters, shops).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Traditional chimney
One side of the stone roof is done
The roof has been insulated and slabs of stone are ready for placement
A new roof was needed for the snack ...
"ciabot" used to be a shack used to stack tools or keep poultry.
Host ref number: 447912158421