Help on our farmstead in Prairie Farm, Wisconsin, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is located in Prairie Farm, WI on 120 acres of forest and field. We grow vegetables and herbs for our own consumption, and also have a small berry patch & orchard. We use only organic growing methods.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love what we do, and we love sharing our knowledge with others. Some of our best conversations have happened while weeding across from someone in the field. We hope that people will feel at home here and will enjoy the peace and quiet of our truly beautiful property.

  • Help

    Help

    Activities vary depending on the time of year but in general volunteers will work in our gardens and on various eco-projects around our farmstead. We will expect about 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week.

    Throughout the growing season we do a lot of canning, freezing, and dehydrating of vegetables, fruit and herbs. Every year we get closer to our goal of growing all of our own produce for the whole year. We heat our home primarily with a wood stove and will sometimes have work gathering and splitting wood from our forest. We have been working on building an outdoor kitchen and we have plans to construct an outdoor composting toilet this year. We would also like to build bug hotels to encourage beneficial insects and other wildlife.

    If you like to cook, we'd be happy to have you use your volunteer hours for cooking our communal meals. If you really enjoy cleaning and organizing and prefer to work inside, there is always work to be done in the house.

    We have three friendly dogs (Saber, Dobby & Boca) and an indoor cat (Kolby). We speak English and can fumble our way through a little bit of Spanish. Since we are very rural, workers need to have their own transportation to and from our farm.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a log home originally built in 1902. Accommodations for volunteers are in what was originally a chicken coop in our barn that was converted to a finished, private room. We have plenty of camping space for anyone who would prefer that. Workers will have access to the bathroom and kitchen inside our house. We eat a mostly vegetarian diet, but do eat some meat from other local farms. Let us know about any dietary limitations and preferences, and we will do our best to accommodate. We will provide all food. Since we grow most of our own produce, the types of foods we eat change with the seasons. We cook a communal lunch but you will be on your own for your breakfast and evening meal preparations, as well as food preparation for meals on your days off. Those over 21 are welcome to drink after a work day, however you will need to buy your own alcohol. Illegal drugs are prohibited and their use will not be accepted.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are opportunities for hiking and biking nearby, and plenty of nature to explore here on our farm! Turtle Creek runs through our property, and there is public access to Silver Creek Trails nearby, which run through the 1,000 acres of county forest that border our farm. We have a large collection of farm related books as well as other fiction & non-fiction books. We are an hour away from Eau Claire and 1.5 hours from the Twin Cities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 444721848956