Urban permaculture scene seeks helpers in Missouri, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/04/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1308

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an Urban Permaculture Homestead in small town with babies, yogis, musicians, and visionaries. We keep bees, fruit trees, greenhouse, berry bramble and patches, wildflower pollinator garden, annuals, herbs and are preparing for homebirth of an amazing human! We can walk or bike to everywhere in town including library, yoga studio, cafes, colleges, groovy little town. We are home to the Katy Trail which is a bike trail that crosses the entire state of Missouri. We have caves and swimming holes and bluffs and forests for great hiking. We believe in creating and supporting healthy human culture that honors the ancient ways while being present in this vibrant NOW!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This homestead in situated in an awesome bikable/walkable college town complete with access to amazing hiking, swimming, caves, bluffs, and a bike trail that extends across the state! Our particular community is immersed in the practices of music, meditation and yoga. We believe in supporting cultural evolution through conscious connection and communication. We practice self responsibility, boundaries, positive visualization of the future, and care for living beings. We own a yoga studio where the guest will be able to attend one weekly class free of charge. The town itself is progressive with an awesome local food scene, art, performance, queer friendly, social justice awareness and more. Our street contains several other friendly community oriented folks and we often share meals and projects. We are a short walk or ride to the 3 parks, the library, and downtown where plenty of shops, cafes, yoga studios and friends await.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now it’s about spring prep!! Mulching pathways, pruning and preparing beds. Cover crops, fence building. Would like to prepare chicken sanctuary as we have a house for them but need to proof it from raccoons. Need people happy with conscious baby raising. Cooking, eating, moving stones.
    Below is stuff that gets going later in the season...
    My guest will have about 16 hours of tasks a week throughout the gardens. Tasks include stewarding the sacred: poly culture garden beds, trees, bees, herbs, berries, grapes, annuals, wildflowers, etc. Stewarding includes edging of boundaries, trails, removal of certain plant species in certain areas, trellising, pruning, tending top bar bee hive, planting, transplanting, and positive loving attitude toward the growth of these living beings! There is also a beautiful cedar wood out building that would love some art added. This could include painting or wood burning. Guest will also be expected to share in general home maintenance like cooking, cleaning, tidying. Walking the dog and hanging with baby are part of our lives.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, advanced learner of Spanish, beginning learner of Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The guest will be best suited in tent outside or their own camper we have a lovely outhouse and kitchen is shared. Omnivore, gluten free, but mostly organic local vegan with occasional pasture and friend raised meat. Vegan diet respected and accommodated!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This workaway opportunity leaves you enough time to get a part time job at local organic cafe. I can give you connection for that job if you desire. You have enough time off to take great camping trips or bike rides/hikes/swims. You are 1.5 hours from St. Louis or Kansas City if you need to travel far or more. I am open to negotiating weeks of time off depending on what's growing on in the garden. You can bike and walk everywhere. We also have in town bus service. I can provide the occasional ride share too if needed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 439457932166