Help wanted at our family home in a beautiful and unspoilt area, near Almedinilla, Andalucia, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 326 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    51  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Autumn has arrived here in the hills of Andalusia, but we still enjoy bright, sunny days (around 20 degrees) and cooler nights (down to 10 degrees), a welcome change from the heat of the long hot Spanish summer!

    Of course, we will also expect some rain ahead of the Olive harvest, which will start in November.

    There are just two weeks remaining in 2019 when help is required - the last week of October and the first week of November (only), so if you meet the criteria detailed in our profile and would like to experience a week, or possibly two, in a peaceful, rural environment, then I would be pleased to hear from you.

    - My wife and I 'retired' to Spain 5 years ago and bought a neglected Farmhouse and around 7,000m2 of land, in the hills of Andalusia.

    - All the professional renovation work on the house is now complete and we are in the process of finalising a few internal/external tasks over the coming months, in preparation for the next phase of our plan, which is to offer 'Yoga-centric breaks for those seeking a tranquil environment, with great indoor/outdoor Yoga facilities.

    - We live here with our 'rescue friends', a Jack Russell X and 2 cats, so any volunteers will need to be animal friendly and not have pet allergies, as sofas will need to be shared!

    - Are you friendly, enthusiastic, responsible, with common sense and a positive 'can do' attitude?

    - This is strictly a non-smoking and drug-free environment - with no exceptions - neither do we accept volunteers with pets or children.

    - There is a decent and reliable, Internet connection available.

    If you have any questions, please ask!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    An excellent opportunity to visit a beautiful and unspoilt area of Spain, rich in history and with numerous places of interest nearby.

    Located at 1,000 metres above sea level, there are long distance views and clean air, with low levels of traffic, Moorish Castles, Roman remains, friendly locals, authentic Spanish living, local Bars serving tapas free with your drink (not coffee/water!) and a generally relaxed way of living.

    You may want to improve your Spanish or acquire your first few phrases to take back home along with many positive memories of stunning scenery and a way of life which has not essentially changed over time!

  • Help

    Help

    NB: Availability for the last week of October and the first week of November.

    - I am looking for fit, healthy, responsible, NON-SMOKING volunteers who are willing to undertake a variety of tasks, which will be mainly external.

    All volunteers should be reasonably fluent in English.

    General landscaping work will involve digging, weeding, planting - using a fork, spade and wheelbarrow - so hands will get dirty! :-)

    It's been a good year for Almonds, so there are several trees which need to be harvested as well!

    Additional tasks will include some wall painting, light housework and regular food preparation (I am not a chef!).
    (My wife will not be home during these two weeks, so if you enjoy - and are reasonably proficient- cooking interesting, healthy meals, then I would particularly welcome you!).

    I would also expect you to assist generally in the kitchen - dishwasher unloading/keeping the communal areas clean and tidy - as well as your bedroom/bathroom.

    - No particular skills are required for these tasks, but a positive attitude and willingness to carry out simple tasks with a decent level of diligence and good-natured enthusiasm, is assumed.

    - Please ensure that your Workaway Profile provides ALL the essential information about you (and anyone you are traveling with), and that there is at least ONE very recent photo of you! (to assist with identification upon collection).

    - I look forward to hearing from you and am happy to answer any specific questions that you might have or provide additional information if required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic Spanish.....

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    - The house is a detached Farmhouse (Cortijo) with almost 7,000 m2 of land, with around 50 Olive and Almond trees and far reaching views.

    - Ideally, I am looking for couples or two friends traveling together, although individuals are welcome, if they are prepared to share with another volunteer of the same gender.

    - Volunteers will be accommodated in one of the downstairs (en-suite) bedrooms.

    - The house is several miles from the nearest town of any real size (20,000+ pop) and public transport is non-existent, but I would be willing to provide lifts into the nearby towns a couple of times a week, for sight-seeing in a genuine Spanish environment.

    - This would definitely not suit 'party animals' who are looking for crowds and noise, although there is a local bar about 10 minutes walk away, which also serves food - and where some basic Spanish will be required!

    - So if you appreciate clean mountain air and the tranquility of being in a rural environment, I'd love to hear from you!

    - There are excellent opportunities to walk through surrounding Olive groves and wonderful distant views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains and Subbetica National Park.

    - A lack of 'light pollution' means that star gazing is a wonderful thing to do!

    - I can collect you from the Bus Station in Alcala la Real, which is about 20 minutes from our house and an hour from Granada.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is about an hour from Granada, an hour and a half from Cordoba and Malaga is just under 2 hours distant.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours x 5 days per week per person

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.2)

Communication: (4.5)































Host ref number: 434248311248