Tiny house project in beautiful Tipperary, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Can you drill holes? Use a measuring tape? Work a wood saw? If so we need you!




    The Location:


    I live with my 2 dogs in a beautiful Tipperary. An 1850s farmhouse on a 70 acre farm in the countryside. I am developing a small off-grid village. Some of our work in progress is pictured below.....

    The Work:

    Painting, gardening, clearing out sheds, fencing, renovation, repairs. Enthusiasm, a good work ethic and an ability to work as part of a team - essential. Also, we share the cooking. All can be learned on the job.

    If you have particular skills working with wood, a drill, a saw, an angle-grinder etc - then PLEASE get in touch. We need lots of helping hands so fear not, if it is your first time.....you can learn from others.

    Handy with a shovel - I need you! We still have a lot of tidying up to do in the gardens and grounds. You can dig - you're IN!

    We are very relaxed here - it is peaceful and beautiful - lots of forest walks, green fields, hills and old castles to visit nearby. Lots of down time.

    Meals are a joint effort. Everyone is asked to pitch in with the grocery shopping, cooking and cleaning up. I pay - you eat!

    You will have warm comfy private room - my house is BIG. I also have beds in our yellow caravan and tiny teardrop camper.


    Amazing wifi!!!!


    Volunteers must be willing to pitch in and do anything that needs doing - from emptying the composting toilet to feeding the doggies. You are expected to work 5 hours per day 5 hours a week. Food included. Fun guaranteed!

    We LOVE musicians here and have a piano, guitar and banjo!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Traditional Irish farm dating back to 1850s. Opportunity to experience and explore the beautiful Irish countryside, and meet the locals in a small, friendly, rural community.

    Learning about living the Good Life, and the Sharing Economy. Opportunity to offer your own ideas.

    I am a novelist, with a great interest in literature, so there is a large library of books - mainly in the English language, with some in French.

  • Help

    Help

    Initiative and enthusiastic attitude essential. No skills required but you should have method and a willingness to muck in. Particular skills of interest to this project: carpentry, plumbing, DIY, painting, drilling, sawing, digging, organising. We have work here to suit every skill set. If you have a driver's licence - driver needed. Get in touch if our project sounds like something you would like to be part of!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room in farmhouse in the Tipperary countryside.

    We can also accomodate campers. Soon we will have a glamper van where guests and volunteers will have their own private hut.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    3 miles from Templemore where there are several direct trains to Dublin per day. Local pub 6 minutes walk. Surrounded by castle ruins, rivers, fairy fort, Devil's Bit mountain climb, and beautiful walks along deserted country roads. and in the fields on the farm. Rock of Cashel - where the Devil spat out the chunk of mountain He munched from the nearby mountain, is half an hour's drive away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 429138242318