Work away and sail away in Seventeen Seventy, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 280 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Ryan and I'm a 29 year old who owns and lives on a 30ft catarmeran for the last 3 years.

    My partner and I are currently working on a video project where we talk to people who have something interesting to share.

    *A scientist or enthusiast who is knowledgeable about specific aspects of the local nature from flora/fauna in the ocean or on the islands , or maybe your a geologist and can read how the land was formed, or even the night skies and what the universe encompasses.

    *Anything do do with survival skills, finding food, which are edible and how to prepare it, obtaining fresh water where there is non flowing, making tools and fire.

    *I am also looking for people to help with works on the boat who have knowledge about fixing boats from plumping, electrics, wood work, fibre glassing, metal works, mechanical name your trade.

    In exchange I will take you sailing and exploring and experiencing true freedom. It will be perfect for people who want to learn about sailing and what sustainable life on board a sailing boat is like. It is a completely different experience then going on a tourist trip. It will also be great for people wanting to share some of their useful knowledge with the world.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In exchange for sharing knowledge or help on the boat I offer to take you out to the Whitsunday islands and reefs to places no tourists boats go. I have in depth knowledge of this beautiful place and will show you an experience you can get by going on a tourist boat.

  • Help

    Help

    We will all cook together, clean up regularly as it's a small space, and help out anyway we can, including taking turns with sailing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to learn Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation includes a double bed and a single bed on one hull of the boat and I will be staying on the other side. Ideally we will be sharing meals when all on the boat.

    max 15 hours of help /week- no food provided
    You can get the ingredients from the shops and cook the food on the boat. You can use the tender to drive back and forth or if you are no comfortable with that there is a kayak.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a huge list of things to do within this area, I will also be open to the idea of lending out my car under the right circumstances.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is plenty of power connections, a table that can be used as a work bench , and the most beautiful office view you will find.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is places to park your van in the car park if preferred or near by camp sites

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If your pet is ok with living on a boat and you are willing to take care of their waste then I would love them on board.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Very flexible and can be agreed on. There will not be more the 15 hours a week.


Host ref number: 427371146137