Athenian, Greek family living in historic home

Country

Greece

updated  

Favourited 114 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we have 3 children (9,13,16 years old). We live in a beautiful 1930's heritage home in Central Athens. I am involved with historical gastronomy and I am a cultural entrepreneur & curator. The two older children have also attended a Rudolph Steiner/Waldorf nursery here in Athens. They all speak English and are amazing, interactive intense people. We would like to invite you to stay in our home and help us, share from your culture and experience with us.
    We have had various Workawayers stay with us, during the last years and it has always been a great experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be exposed to a Greek/ English speaking environment. You will have the opportunity to spend time in Athens and discover as an insider this lovely city. Our home is located 15 minutes from the National Archaeological Museum and 20 min by transport to Sindagama Square and historical center (Acropolis etc). Our home is filled art and antiques reflecting Greek history- so it is like living in a museum! . Athens is an amazing city rich in history and culture. It is located in the Attican region and you can access beaches and historical sites from where we live, by using public transport.
    Many important sites (Epidaurus, Delphi, Mycenae) can be visited on a day trip.

  • Help

    Help

    We require an enthusiastic (non-smoking) person, who will help with the children, pick up from school, organize them, take them to sport, help them with their homework and spend time with them, play with with them, guide them, inspire them to discovery. We request occasional evening babysitting too, which will be arranged within your working hours.

    We prefer open-minded individuals who have traveled and have a multi-cultural experience. We are mainly a vegetarian health food oriented family. We all speak English/Greek fluently (but would love you to teach us your language too). If we travel for holiday in Greece, we ask that you come with us, if needed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    We all speak English/ Greek (and mom spk German/French)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in one of Athens most beautiful historic homes. You will have a very small private sleep loft niche (6m2) accessible only with a ladder and use the guest bathroom. Other than you private room, you can have the use to all the common living spaces.

    Please note: On average, we rent out our home once a month (for about 2-3 days) to keep up with home expenses. If in the time that you are there, we rent out our home, we usually accommodate our Workawayers, during the days at our other home in the city or in nearby hotel. We ask you to be flexible with this arrangement. Anyhow, this is rare in winter months, but may happen in summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are happy to have a Skype meeting with you for a small interview.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our littlest is always up some tree...
Mating(me) and our youngest daughter visiting the Ancient Agora in Athens.
We promise not to put any frogs in your socks!



Host ref number: 427361115616