Come lend a hand on our organic farm in wild west Wales

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 1494 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    42  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    299

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is a small but highly productive and super busy 23 acre organic family farm. We grow vegetables, fruit, herbs and flowers that we sell directly at two local farmers markets, through our box scheme and to local pubs, shops and restaurants.
    We have a small fold (herd) of Highland cows, sometimes keep pigs and have a number of unruly chickens.

    The farm is run by myself Nathan and my wife Alicia, along with the help of my mother Muriel who lives with us. We have two young daughters and a small menagerie of cats, chickens and a dog, who along with the children are more or less helpful at any given time!

    The farm is still quite new, started just eight years ago, with us as new entrant farmers. Where we farm is stunningly beautiful but quite remote. The farm is situated in the small hamlet of Llwyndafydd, with views of farmland across the coombe. Cymtydu beach is just over a mile’s walk down a beautiful country lane, with easy access to Cardigan Bay’s protected heritage coastline and coastal path. Lonely Planet has named Coastal Wales the 'Best Region on Earth' to visit in 2012.
    We have a very active social media account, where we post loads of photo's and stories of our farming life here on the 'wild' west coast of Wales.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope all our visitors get to enjoy something of our family life...a lot of conversation is around food and food politics, Alicia is the sub editor for the Sustainable Food Trust. They are a charity with a global focus on sustainable food issues and they publish a range of content on their website. So the talk around our busy kitchen dining table is pretty much always food / sustainability related!
    I am a very keen to teach organic growing techniques and food production on a small but viably commercial scale and am very much a hands on farmer and grower.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for year round help around the house and farm with a good mix of farming activities including vegetable planting, harvesting and crop tending, along with feeding the cows in the winter time. As well as farm help we also sometimes need help with painting the farmhouse and other maintenance jobs we otherwise find hard to get to.
    We are also looking for help on some small building project, last year we completed a small straw bale roundhouse and a cob bread oven, so this year we hope to add a compost toilet and out door shower to that area, so please get in touch if you have the knowhow!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, American English (Alicia) Welsh (daughter)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live with us in our nice large house. You get you own comfortable double bedroom. We invite you to live communally with us, participating in the household. We love to cook (and are really good at it!) but we love help too and enjoy it when other people lend a hand. We drink, we eat meat and fish but we don't smoke and run the farm as a no smoking farm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mobile telephone service is poor around here so we may not get mobile messages immediately. We have wifi.
    The coast is at the end of the lane and is STUNNING! It's great for walking, swimming, dolphin spotting and bird watching. It is however rubbish for nightclubs!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Depending on the season, 5 hours per day 5 days per week with a two day weekend off.

Nathan with onions... a serious business.
The fabulous coastline.
The view from the farmhouse.
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




























Host ref number: 426526266456